Home > Uncategorized > The Ejit Returns

The Ejit Returns

January 23, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m having some serious pressure put on me to rekindle my babble and I know I’ve been a naughty blogger. Those Canadians must be suffering from cabin fever from the Polar Vortex by wanting more of my mundane missives.

I’ll keep this one short because I said to a friend a couple of days ago that I hadn’t had a big tumble off my bike for ages and that was tempting fate.  So here I am today hooting along at a great rate of knots and took the wrong line across some railway tracks thinking I could frog jump the bike over the exposed track. By the way, that’s a thing a 20 year old would have trouble doing!

Nope! I took a big tumble and am now battered and bruised with two big hematomas on my elbow and hip, cuts and bruises and feeling sorry for myself.  The thing that restricts me most is the very sore thumb.  I thought a thumb was only for blocking up dykes but try and do without one and see where it gets you.  I suppose I shouldn’t whinge too much as Muppet’s Mum has just had a growth removed and bone graft on her pinky and is worse off than me when it comes to fingers.

We had four days over 40 last week and did the rubbernecks love it.  Seems we were struck with the Hell Vortex! Back to normal this week but who knows what lies ahead.

We did a bike tour in November from Luang Prabang in Laos to Hanoi in Vietnam.  MP’s sister and her friend accompanied us along with nine others on the tour.  A great ride and you can get the photos HERE and a 11 minute video HERE.

Feeling a weakness coming over me so better go and lie down now and suck up the wonderful attention I’m receiving from MP.  However, no denying the fact that she thinks I’m an ejit as my good Irish mum used to tell me.

  1. January 23, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    So, you’ve fallen off your bike again. Ouch! I hope you heal up quickly and take more care in future! Welcome back to the blogosphere. 🙂

    Gee, am I sore this morning. I forgot to mention the woman who pulled up as I rolled around on the ground and asked if I was ok. As I examined my wounds, I said, “I don’t think so” and she drove off! I was just near the coffee van so I rode there and rang MP to come and get me.

  2. muscat55
    January 24, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    Oh dear, not good, but I do know how important a thumb is, I found out when I broke it a few years ago. I am now absolutely impressed with just how important they are. I hope you are back to normal soon and ‘back on your bike’!

    I’ll have no problems getting back on the bike but I do have a problem with my lack of intelligence!

  3. Mary
    January 24, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    We all take granted of all of our digits and limbs until they are out of action. Tried to view your video but was blocked out. The message said this video is private.

    Sorry, you can view it now.

  4. January 25, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Just looked through most of your photos, looks like a fab place to go on a bike holiday! Wonderful scenery. And pickled snakes in jars… and roasted rodents…. yum! Just what I like for breakfast. Hope your thumb is better now. And it won’t stop you typing more blog posts! Good to see you back in the blogging world.

    Laos is a beautiful country and lovely people. You can have Vietnam. If we ever make it to Toronto again, we’ll bring some of the snake wine and rats and watch you gobble it down for breakfast since you like it so much. However, we’ll settle for some waffles and that yummy maple syrup.

    • January 26, 2014 at 12:38 am

      OK, waffles and maple syrup it is, with just a teeny tine bit of roasted rodent for protein.

      Everyone to their own. Maybe you Canadians have some peculiar tastes. I’m told you guys have lemmings; maybe you have them with a spot of HP sauce washed down with a Tim Horten’s coffee.

      Don’t get me started on a Tim Horten’s Vanilla Chiller. I’d kill for one of those again!

      • January 26, 2014 at 12:39 am

        sorry, can’t type. I meant tiny.

        Well it could have been the North American spelling of tiny for all I would have known.

  5. AZ
    January 26, 2014 at 1:12 pm

    Smart of the creator to give you two thumbs so when one is out of commission you have another to operate the spacebar on your keyboard. I was here the other day and looked at all the photos (stunning!), and I too was barred from viewing your video, but just got through looking at it (even more stunning!) Were those black sausages blood sausages? EWWWWW! Rather eat greens and rodents with a snake brew chaser. While the rest of the U.S. has been caught up in the polar vortex, we desert rats have been living the life of Riley, except, of course, for all the snow birds who have flocked to our area like moths to a flame.

    I just realised that I’m ambidextrous with a lot of things and need BOTH thumbs. It seems you North Americans have some seriously strange eating habits.

    Winter is different for us as all the grey nomads, as we call them, head north to escape our “freezing” weather. By the way, it never gets below freezing here.

  6. MM
    January 27, 2014 at 8:51 am

    I have some really good painkillers if you need any 🙂

    Pain isn’t so bad now.

  7. May 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    Still alive?

    • August 18, 2014 at 7:32 am

      maybe not……

      Have I got news for you!

      Lazarus

  8. February 8, 2015 at 5:32 pm

    Yay! You’re back. Sorry to hear about your thumb!

    • February 8, 2015 at 5:38 pm

      Err, not really. That post was a year ago! Ticking over okay though. Bike riding in China late last year and more of the same later in the year in Sri Lanka. Not a single fall since that last accident so come on fate.

      • February 8, 2015 at 5:40 pm

        Oh, it was the only one on your feed and couldn’t recall reading it…. that probably because I read it a year ago! Haha 🙂

  9. Thomas Houseman
    June 29, 2016 at 12:46 pm

    Meep!

  10. June watford
    February 14, 2017 at 10:39 pm

    Still kicking and still working, hope you guys are ok.

  1. October 19, 2017 at 10:17 am

Stick your pennies worth here

