Home > Rants > Dogbait Resurrected

Dogbait Resurrected

It’s been two years now since my meter reading days finished for good and to finally drag myself away from the clutches of the local canine gangs has been a bonus.

When I posted yesterday’s blog, I was thinking the “Dogbait” nickname had outlived it’s usefulness as the problem no longer existed and the local doggies would have now forgotten me.  Yeah, right!

Having a lovely ride on a lovely sunny day and this piece of shyte takes a chunk out of my new socks.  Fortunately, he just nipped the skin but destroyed a brand new pair of socks worth $24.  Yeah, I know, a rip off for socks but I love them and they had to live up to their name.

I screeched to a halt, dropped the bike and start chasing the mutt around intent on sinking my foot into it’s bollocks but it had the sense to hide under it’s owners legs.  For a brief moment, I contemplated sinking said foot into both of them because I still hadn’t arrived at my favourite coffee spot, and as readers will realise from my last post, a caffeine depleted Dogbait is not to be messed around with.

The woman was mortified and apologetic and I calmed down enough to give her a right bollocking (I seem to like that word) about her responsibilities as a dog owner.  She immediately gave me her name and address and promised to buy replacement socks today or else I told her I’d be off to the City Council.  I said she can choose between $24 or a $250 fine so methinks that should get a new pair pronto.  I could always hold out hope for a box of chockies too.

I mounted trusty steed and arrived at my midway coffee haunt to find it had just closed for the day.  I thought, god help any poor bastard that crossed me on the trip home.

NEWSFLASH! Cafe in Barwon Heads burnt to the ground in overnight fire.

  1. june in florida
    May 8, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    You better wear shinguard’s, hope the cafe fire was a joke.

    Better still, the dogs better start wearing mouth guards. Yep, the cafe still exists.

  2. june in florida
    May 8, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    At least the bloody dog gave you something to post about.

    Well I am Dogbait so it wasn’t hard to find a topic. I might even shock you all and post again tomorrow. Not dogs this time. 😀

  3. Mary
    May 9, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Was it a Jack Russell?

    No. Some mutt a bit bigger than a JR

  4. MM
    May 9, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Had a similar experience on the beach the other day although the dog didn’t bite me, just went for me. When I screamed the owner snidely said to me “he’s not after YOU”. Oh yeah, after my dogs then? And hers was a BIG MEAN dog. My dogs were walking with me at my heel minding their own business (as usual).

    I’ve come across a few of these inconsiderate pricks and my Irish blood lets them have it.

    I saw the Bylaws guy booking people along the OG-BH track a couple of weeks ago. The woman who’s dog bit me said a friend of hers has been booked 3 times for off-lead and not cleaning up her dog crap and she said she just ignores the fines. That’s the type of people you are up against.

    Got my new socks today.

  5. AZ
    May 10, 2013 at 6:33 am

    $24 SOCKS!

    No, $24.44 in US dollars 🙂 Or a second pair for $12. I’ve had these Mountain Design ones before and they live forever. Coolmax with maybe gold stitching or they were made in the USA or OZ and not some Vietnamese sweetshop.

  6. AZ
    May 10, 2013 at 6:41 am

    Never mind I guess the $24 socks go with your $120 sneakers. 🙂

    Not quite. You can get those cycle shoes for $75.80 from Chain Reaction., but I get your drift. 😀

  7. AZ
    May 10, 2013 at 6:44 am

    WAIT a minute — dressed for a ride and you’ve already at $144, and we’re not even past your ankles yet!?!?

    Don’t get me started on the what we pay for this hobby. However, I can assure you my shorts, undies and cycle top are a lot cheaper. However, I do have 3 pairs of those socks, two pairs of cycle shoes, 4 pairs of shorts, 4 cycle tops, 2 wind jackets, 2 rain jackets, 2 helmets (no, not 2 heads), 3 sets of gloves etc, etc.

    And did I mention the 6 bikes we own.

  8. june in florida
    May 11, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    Saw a sign on a show i was watching for coffee $4.50 a cup, this was in Oz.Figured rate of exchange it would be about the same as here, about $1.00 or $2.00 , NO! Rate is equal $1.00 US =$1.00 AU.$4.50 for cup of coffee is nuts.

    Yes, the exchange rate is the same and lattes vary between $3.00 and $4.50 depending on size. The exchange rate back 10 years when we were last in the US would have made that coffee $2.50 for you. Our coffee is a class act unlike your black stuff in a goldfish bowl that tastes like it came from here. 😀

  9. thomashouseman
    May 15, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    Run across this fellow biking about the place?

    Damn, that could be me! Same description, same colour car and I was wearing a baseball cap when I walked along there this morning. I have an alibi though as MP was with me. However, she wasn’t with me when I rode along there on Monday. “Opps, officer, I must have forgotten to put my shorts on this morning”

    Bit of a worry as a lot of single females walk and run along the Narrows. I’ll keep an eye out for a silver Hyundai.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

