Home > Travel > Cambodia Finally

Cambodia Finally

OK, I’ve been slack so here’s a brief rundown on Cambodia.

We had a week there and enjoyed the place before having to come home in a hurry.  The heat and humidity spoiled the experience somewhat and it just seems to sap the energy big time.  It might get hot here over summer but at least we are spared that incredible humidity.

We landed in Saigon at 5.10pm after a 9 hour flight and were on the plane to Phnom Penh at 6pm.  The plane was an ATR Turbo-Prop operated by Cambodian Angkor Air and it was somewhat disconcerting to be sitting about half a meter from the propeller. Give me a jet engine anyday.

We came into PP a day early and a Tuk-Tuk driver collared us in the street and offered a tour of Mekong Island that is situated in the middle of the Mekong River near PP.  It cost us $25 for a 6 hour tour and it was a great day exploring this tranquil island renowned for it’s silk weavers and many Buddhist temples.

We met the rest of the group the next day and started with a visit to the Royal Palace and then the usual crass tourist bit before visiting the very sad and depressing killing fields and the prison where the Khmer Rouge, led by Pol Pot, decided to eliminate anyone who was even remotely opposed to their bizarre political thinking.  We chilled in the evening with a boat cruise along the Mekong.

The next two days were 300k’s north in Battambang where we visited several Ankorian ruins and temples before we met a renowned chief at his restaurant where we spent the morning buying ingredients (no, not that!) from the local market and cooking up our own Khmer curries which turned out to be one of the best meals we had in Cambodia.  Also on the agenda in Battambang was a trip on the Bamboo Railway, a visit to a silk farm and a concert in the evening.

We then drove 200k north to Siem Reip and the main purpose of this visit, the fabled ruins of Angkor Wat.  We spent a day at this fabulous temple and a couple of days riding bikes to several temples and ruins in the area followed by a cruise up the river where Vietnamese boat people live.

As I mentioned previously, we had to abort the Laos section of the trip and so made a hurried trip home from Siem Reip which I reported in the previous post.

We took 600 photos and I pruned it down to 390 so if you are interested and have the fortitude, check out the Slideshow HERE or the Gallery HERE.

We’re off again in a couple of days to attend the wedding of our niece Aimee in Gippsland and then we’re spending a couple of weeks exploring the numerous bike trails in the area.

I’ll try and report on that trip a bit quicker for you.

  1. October 2, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Actually, I’m gonna be pedantic and say the ATR isn’t an Airbus, but I forgive you because I’ve just gone through the whole album and it’s fantastic.

    I realise that ATR is a separate company and I think my brain fade came because about 10 minutes before that blog, I was reading an article about the Airbus A380 and “Airbus” stuck in my head for some reason. I’ve only been on a couple of turboprops before and this one was a very nice aircraft. Quite new too and the acceleration on takeoff was an amazing experience. I guess it was just a perception being in a smaller aircraft but the landing speed seemed so much faster too. Maybe he had a screaming tailwind so I was glad it was a long runway.

  2. june in florida
    October 5, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    Cant look at pics now on my way to work but looking forward to it.

  3. AZ
    October 10, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    I was here a few days ago and went through your pictures twice, then my body decided it was a good time to pass a kidney stone. My excuse is muscle relaxers made be stupid and sleepy, mostly stupid. I wandered off and never left a comment — I am so sorry, the photos are beautiful! Where’s my pills? ZZZZzzzzzzzz =.=

    Not fun I’m led to believe. Away travelling in Gippsland in the East of the State at the moment. Back next week. Briefly!

  4. MM
    October 10, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Looking forward to the slideshow on the big TV 🙂

    We’ll have more of Wilsons Prom and the wedding to keep you bored too.

  5. june in florida
    October 13, 2012 at 12:22 am

    Loved the pics and left a comment but it didn’t show, i must have messed up somehow, have a good trip.

    Disappeared into cyberspace never to be seen again.

  6. October 15, 2012 at 5:25 am

    oooops, I thought I wrote a comment but obviously I meant to, but didn’t. or maybe it got eaten. I had a good look through all your pictures, marvellous! What a great trip. I thought your pics were super but sorry to hear they caused AZ to pass a kidney stone. I’ll be more careful when looking at your holiday pics in the future, I don’t want that to happen to me!!!!
    Maybe it was because he looked at them twice. Bit of an overload. I only looked at them once so I think I’m OK.
    So now you are off to Gippsland. I went through that area on a bus when I was in OZ…. lots of lakes if I remember rightly. And some big ant hills. I was on my way to Bermagui.

    AZ is not a “he” that I’m aware of. You might confirm that for us Lola.

    Begs the question what was on in the small town of Bermagui.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

