Home > Weather > Soggy Soil

Soggy Soil

A couple of my faithful readers have been lamenting the lack of babble which is very humbling.  Sorry that my posts have been very few and far between; a bit like our gold medal count.  No excuse other than the winter blues and a lack of anything substantial to report but we can always call upon the weather in times of babble desperation.

We’ve had a bit above average winter rains, but on top of two years of drought busting rains, the water table is a bees doodle from the surface nowadays.  Farmers dams are overflowing, our main reservoir is spilling for the first time in 10 years and there’s not one area of Oz in drought now.  A far cry from a couple of years back.

A few mils of rain here and there and the riding tracks around here end up a quagmire which Scottie the mountain bike can handle with aplomb but means that I have to get the scrubber and shining rags out again.  Must keep up appearances.

MP usually ploughs through the muck without the slightest application of brakes and so gathers twice as much crud than the guy who has to clean them.  Her retort is usually, “Well why should I worry when I don’t have to clean it!”  Touche!  I must admit there is usually a nice dinner waiting for me though.

I’ve uploaded  19 photos with captions of various areas around the traps including the Nature Reserve and Rail Trail to emphasise my point.  Slide show HERE and gallery HERE.

For my overseas readers, I bet you didn’t know our cockatoos can roost in mid-air. And no, I didn’t use Photoshop.

Off to Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam in a couple of weeks so far more interesting things than wet ground to report then.

  1. MM
    August 8, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Good photos of the water around the place. You could have just come here and taken some photos of my paddock and driveway, they’re under just about as much water as some of those other places!

    It surprises me that the house got built at that end of the block.

    • MM
      August 9, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      We chose the best part of the block to build on – it’s as far away from the neighbours as we could get 🙂

      Good point. Anyway, you’d never hear them under all that water. 😀

  2. AZ
    August 8, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    You’ve taken all our rain! We got a good rain (almost 1.5 inches fell in one hour) on the 4th of July, but since then all we’ve seen is dust storms, relentless heat, and humidity. Now I have to ask how the cockatoos are perching in mid-air; did they synchronize their wing beats so that wings were tight to their bodies at the exact moment you clicked the shutter?

    Fascinating, isn’t! I’ll tell you and June how they did it tomorrow. If we had 36mm (1.5 inches) in an hour here, we’d have major floods because the ground is so soaked.

    We’re going from a southern Aussie winter to the steamy tropics in a couple of weeks. That should hurt.

  3. june in florida
    August 9, 2012 at 6:39 am

    Don’t they have some kind of bike with pontoons and paddle wheels or take up canoeing.We could use some of that water here, Florida is ok but the rest of the country is in bad shape.Waiting for the answer on the birds.

    I’ve been following how hot and dry you guys have been. Answer to birds tomorrow.

  4. August 9, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    It sure doesn’t take much rain these days to make puddles everywhere, but it beats drought!

    You’re right there.

  5. August 9, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    I remember the days when you all were on Level 9 water restrictions and could only drink the stuff. No washing, no laundry . . . you were a stinky, arid lot! We’ve got it bad here. Having said that, it may be that this is the 3rd non-rainy day in a row! That’ll be a first since May! Crops are rotting in the field, no hay or silage can get harvested . . . but this is a very localised problem. Further north and south, no probs. Go figure!

    No rain for 3 days and you call it a problem! The little I’ve watched of the Olympics and everyone is covered in plastic so London still has it. We’re heading to Cambodia the week after next in the height of the monsoon season and should be no shortage there. A least it will be like standing under a hot shower.

  6. AZ
    August 10, 2012 at 7:01 am

    Yo! Peggy! I’ve been reading your blog faithfully, but can’t leave any comments. I type my comment, Google asks me for my password, I type it and the comment vanishes. Very troubling 😦

    How dare you get distracted by reading other peoples blogs.

    • August 11, 2012 at 8:37 am

      S’okay AZ – I’m sure Google will fix it, then give you cash for annoying you. Dogbait – It’s not always all about you . . . . 😉

      It’s not!! I’m shattered! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

