Home > Bike > Uh Oh!

Uh Oh!

It hasn’t been a great 2 weeks for MP and moi.  A couple of weeks back, we’re out at our favourite mountain bike park at the You Yangs just out of Geelong when she clipped a small stump poking out of the ground and was pile driven into terra firma cracking her ribs which are still sore.

I picked up a cold from Miss Muppet and I’ve been hovering near death with the thing all week.  Everyone around her has been blighted, and if they are seeking weapons of mass destruction, they should look no further than that child.  The first cold I’ve had in about 10 years so you can understand my misery.  And I’m male.

Syg and I headed out to the You Yangs last Friday to ride some of the more advanced trails.  Since getting back to MTB riding earlier this year, my confidence and skills have been improving but a side effect can be an accumulation of over-confidence.

We were heading down the fast Crescent Run and I was thoroughly enjoying myself and getting up some speed while negotiating some banked berms and smaller rock falls when I screamed up to one with a drop of about a metre.  That’s a fair drop on a bike and the technique is to hit it at speed with your weight back on the bike and prepare for a decent thump when it hits the ground.  The other technique is to just go around it. 

Of course the latter technique only came to me as I braked too hard, lost too much speed and was airborne with my weight too far forward and the bike pointed straight down into the ground.  You have heard of ‘Uh, Oh!’ moments; well that is exactly what went through my mind as I hurtled south knowing that this wasn’t going to end well.

I can clearly remember going over that rock wall and seeing the ground come up and thinking it seemed a long way down but I have no recollection of the next 10 minutes or so.  Syg was a little way ahead of me but had stopped for me to catch up and I apparently rode up to him and sat down while he bandaged some wounds while I muttered a lot of gibberish.

I can vaguely remember him asking me some questions; probably to check my level of compos mentis and I think he asked me to describe MP.  When I hesitated, he said “Don’t you remember, she’s the gorgeous young blonde with the big boobs”.  Suddenly I was conscious again! 

We rode 5k’s back to the cars and I started to feel a lot better, but Sygi being a far more sensible lad than I insisted that I go to Casualty for a check over.  They kept me in for 3 hours for observation and chucked me out when I refused to froth at the mouth.  They were going to give me a brain scan but decided against it when they determined that they’d struggle to find one.

I was lucky to get out of it with no broken bones and just some sore joints and abrasions to impress the checkout chicks at the supermarket (“You should see the other guy”).  All bike riders have a tale to tell about their up close and personal experience with the ground but the trick is to live for another day.

I’ll probably do some cruising on Scotty Hybrid for a bit and give some thought to acting my age when I get back to the mountain bike.

Check the damage HERE and HERE.

This is a short video of the track in question.  I came to grief on one their airborne sojourns. The guys doing this are 18, good at it and with no concept of death.

  1. thomashouseman
    June 10, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    Ouchie-wowchie! Commiserations and stuff. Hope you’re milking the sympathy for all it’s worth 🙂

    T.

    No lasting damage so the milk of human kindness from the loved ones may not last too long.

  2. muscat55
    June 10, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Oh dear! You did make a mess!

    I’d just put together a decent First Aid kit too. Very timely.

  3. June 10, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Man! That looks sore! I am SO glad you wear a helmet!

    I seem to have slapped my face into the ground and not my dome. Wearing a helmet is law here. We’re out to buy some new helmets this week as the oldies have been around too long and the sun stuffs them up over time too.

  4. AZ
    June 10, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    So, when are you putting the bikes up for sale? Just kidding; sorta. This is where I have to tell you a story of a couple we met standing in line at our local Costco. A woman was helping her husband – he was confused about something – like where was he and how did he get there? As we stood in line the wife explained to us that the year before her husband had been in an accident on his ATV; he’d gone over some rocks that toppled the ATV ass over elbows and her husband had struck his head on some rocks. She said he was fine after the accident, but over several months he started showing signs of dementia. She took him to the doctor after the accident and there was no brain damage that could be detected, but he seemed to be on a downward spiral first with his memory, and then with muscle control. She said she was now had to dress and spoon feed him, and that she was looking into an assisted living home because she wasn’t able to care for him properly. SCARY!!!

    Who are you? I shouldn’t joke about things like that.

    MP here….. Hi AZ. I’ve had to spoon feed him since the day I met him. 😀

  5. June 12, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Crikey, that’s one helluva face you have there.
    And the damage is pretty spectacular too!
    Maybe this will teach you to act yer age…. or perhaps you were? Mental age, that is. That video is amazing. I can see how you managed to do so much damage to yourself after watching the bikes go over some of those jumps.

    Poor lass. One look at my face was enough to scare you witless. My problem was I should have gone over the jump like they did to survive but it takes a lot of courage to do that at speed.

  6. june in florida
    June 13, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    I am glad I saw the before picture (previous post), watched the video, you must be nuts with all those rocks on the path.Hope you both feel better soon.

    No lasting damage to either of us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

