Home > Misc > The Paradise Driver

The Paradise Driver

All my regular readers would be familiar with Wil Kyle, the Paradise Driver.  Wil was one of my first followers when I started blogging back in 2005 and of course we enjoyed his excellent missives as a taxi driver in Maui before he moved back to California when his health started to fail.

Today I received an email from one of his mates and then one from Wil himself via his son which I will repeat…………….

“Aloha Reg, here’s the most recent picture of me. I am currently in a local hospital and do not expect to leave. My friends and family will be communicating with you to give you regular updates about my condition. Right now it could be 4 days or 4 weeks..unknown. Please post the picture and it would be appreciated if you let everybody know what’s going on so that people don’t think I just disappeared and this is my one opportunity to let everybody know how much I appreciated their friendship and their love. And I hope you use your blog to pass all this to them, anticipate communications from my friends.  When I finally do pass, they will let you know, and hopefully you can pass the information on to the world.
G’day Mate, Wil”

I have today sent Wil a note and I am sure he would appreciate the same from any of his friends from blogosphere.  You can contact him via his son at this address.

That’s life, but sixty four is too damn young.

  1. Ian
    April 14, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    Thanks for the info… I was gettin’ real worried for Wil… well of course I’m still worried for him but ya know what I mean. Like he always says “shit happens” but why is it always the good ones mate?

    Too much shit happens to a lot of people unfortunately.

  2. April 15, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Thanks for the heads up Ian, that’s some sad shit but it’s life…..I will try to post a little something about Wil.

    MC.

    Yes, that’s life. I’m still trying to find the meaning of it all though.

  3. April 15, 2012 at 6:45 am

    Hi Ian thanks for that very sad news indeed. I have mailed the address given with a message for Wil. Hope you are well yourself best wishes to you and yours. I dont get a lot of time to update the blog lately but still keep it up for old times sake. I really did enjoy doing the blog but part of the craic was to read yours and Wil’s avidly. Cheers Bob

    Good to hear from you Bob but unfortunately under these sad circumstances.

  4. thomashouseman
    April 15, 2012 at 8:25 am

    That’s just sucky. Cancer is horrible. I did enjoy the Hawaii taxi stories….

    As we did too.

  5. MM
    April 15, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    We have sent a message to Wil as well. Thanks for keeping us updated.

    Good on you. I’m sure he will really appreciate a message from you and Muppet.

  6. April 16, 2012 at 4:51 am

    Sad to hear this of one of the original taxi bloggers and a wonderful Hawaiian ambassador.

    So true.

  7. May 5, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Just wanted to thank you for relaying Wil’s wishes. Wil was an inspiration to me when I started my own blog and his frequent comments were greatly appreciated. He will be fondly remembered.

    I certainly got to know more about cab life around the world from you guys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

