Home > Muppet's Mum > News Flash

News Flash

MM has survived with just soft tissue damage and no breaks in her foot.  Relief all round! Looks like a week’s rest and then slowly back into activities again.

The swelling had gone down considerably when we visited last night and she was getting around on the leg a lot better so we suspected that there were no bones broken at that stage.

There are lessons to be learnt for all of us here when we are mucking around in the garage or garden or trying to to lift humongously heavy objects.

Never wear thongs!  Vampire bat

  1. MM
    March 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Okay, I’ll save wearing my “thongs” for more appropriate activities 🙂

    Very happy about the no broken bones 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I know you can get safety boots but can you get safety “thongs”? You might have to bring that up at your next H&S meeting.

    That’s if you haven’t been sacked from the H&S committee. 😀

    • MM
      March 15, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      I’m the poster girl for “what not to do”!!!

  2. March 15, 2012 at 11:40 am

    And for those not living in Australia, never wear flip-flops or jandles.

    I can vouch for that, I still have a mark on my toenail from dropping something heavy on it in July last year while wearing sandles.

    You might not get on the H&S committee at Airservices Aust. 😀

    • AZ
      March 16, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      I had to Google “jandles,” before I Googled I figured “jandles” were akin to our “Jesus boots” our slang for sandals, but I was wrong. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone out in public with socks and flip flops, but I’ve done it at home. 🙂

      Jandles is the term used for thongs/flip flops by our neighbours across the Big Ditch. You don’t see too many idiots with socks and thongs but you see a lot of old codgers wearing socks and sandals. Not a good look!

  3. March 15, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Sometimes soft tissue damage heals just as slowly as a broken bone. (Aren’t I cheery?) I bettcha that one week isn’t going to long enough . . . . but just take it easy dear MM. 🙂

    Peggy, she’s back walking the dogs and driving against wiser advice.

  4. june in florida
    March 15, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Take care and get better soon,there’s a lot more i could say but i wont .

    You mean this thongs topic. Might be safer to move on from that. 😀

  5. AZ
    March 16, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    I’ve got an incredible ugly pair of men’s work shoes that I use when I’m working outside, Significant Other would never allow flip flops when working with garden implements. He was a steelworker for years and steel-toed shoes were a must when moving tons of steel so old habits die hard.

    I’m the same as SO and always wear steel capped Redbacks when I’m out in the yard or garage. I’ve dropped plenty on them over the years too.

  6. March 22, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    My toes are aching from simply thinking about dropping something heavy on them.
    Once when I was little, I dropped my dad’s garden fork and it went right through my wellington boot…. and right between my toes! I was lucky, could have been a lot worse.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

