Home > Uncategorized > Thanks

Thanks

February 12, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hello there loyal DB readers, MM here. Sorry to have hijacked this blog once again, but just wanted to publicly acknowledge all the love and support I receive from DB & MP. As you may have guessed from some of DB’s posts, my health in the last 8 months hasn’t been the best. I’ve undergone 3 surgeries in 6 months, two of which put me out of action for several weeks.

I had my second surgery just before Christmas. The plan was that I would recover in time to enjoy Christmas and our summer school holidays, still take Muppet away for a holiday, and generally be in good enough health to live and enjoy life. Unfortunately , due to some complications I was pretty much laid up for seven weeks, the entire school holidays.

Christmas went by in a bit of a blur and Muppet went away with her Dad for a couple of weeks, leaving me free to try several different painkillers to ease my pain. None of which worked with the pain, but did manage to give me a lot of nausea. I had booked to go away in the second week of January but as that time approached, I realised I would be in no fit state to make the 5 hour drive, or to participate in any fun activities with Muppet. So, I postponed my trip for a week, which was all I could do. I thought, maybe one more week and I’ll be ok. Not so. My options were to cancel and lose my money on the booking, or find someone to come with me to help out. Most of my friends are parents and have their own responsibilities and commitments, particularly over the summer school holidays. So I briefly entertained the idea of asking MP to come with me (retired, no kids, no responsibilities – unless you count waiting hand and foot on DB 🙂 ). It wasn’t really a serious thought, knowing how much DB & MP love to go away and be free of crowds – especially noisy, obnoxious children!!! I had booked into a family friendly caravan park – especially for the noisy, obnoxious children so that Muppet would find some friends to play with!!!

Not surprisingly, MP said of course she would love to help me with Muppet, and she would be happy to share the long drive there. So Muppet still managed to have a fantastic time away – swimming, bike riding, blackberry picking, crafting and exploring, all thanks to MP.

And once again, I relied heavily on both DB & MP for the usual domestic chores. MP did all my ironing, DB did all my housework and mowing, and I even came home from our trip away to find my outdoor decks painted! Talk about hard work, these guys are relentless in helping out, I don’t know what I’d do without them.

I would also like to apologise to DB, because the day he painted the decks he went inside to enjoy a lovely Nespresso coffee, only to realise I had taken the machine with me! Sorry about that.

On a positive note, my final surgery was less than 2 weeks ago which eliminated the problems of surgery # 2. I was home the next day and I feel almost normal. Had a bike ride, a dip in the surf and a walk with the dogs today. I may have overdone it but I don’t care – I am pain free and feel fantastic!

Here’s a sample of the things DB will do for me and my Muppet:

I love to play with Barbie!

Thanks DB & MP, we love you xx

  1. june in florida
    February 13, 2012 at 3:09 am

    So happy for you MM that you have the fantastic friends and support you have and best of all your healthy now .

  2. February 13, 2012 at 7:08 am

    Those mushed up writing skills you mentioned have gone!

    Thanks for those very kind words but I meant for the hijacking to be about your recent trials and tribulations and not about our canonisation. Hey, that’s what friends are there for and you’d do the same for us. Dribble time coming up!

    Dressing and undressing Barbies for two hours and one could be accused of a serious fetish!

    As for the mowing and painting the deck, piece of cake!

  3. AZ
    February 13, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Glad to hear that you’re on the mend MM, and glad also that you have DB and MP to step in to assist you in your time of need. I’m in shock to see how much Muppet has grown she’s a young lady already, time is just flying. Oh yeah DB, bravo for playing Barbie dress up with Miss Muppet, she’ll have those memories for a lifetime.

    More to the point, I’ll be scarred for life!

  4. Scott from Oregon
    February 14, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Ummmm, Barbie dress up?

    Hee hee tee hee…

    I’m just glad MM is on the mend and y’all are healthy enough to play with Barbies….

  5. February 14, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Welcome back, MM!! 🙂

  6. February 17, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    That is just lovely! I am so glad you’re on the mend and that you have such wonderful, generous friends who have got your back! Well done on the improved health dear MM and pat on the back to DB and MP!! ❤

  7. laura
    February 18, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Glad you’re feeling better MM!! Aren’t DB & MP just the best xoxo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

