Home > Home Front > Gremlins

Gremlins

I think our joint is haunted.  The electric toothbrush decides to have a life of it’s own and not turn off and then the same day the electric jug turns itself on and makes out it’s had enough of life and goes into meltdown.  Fortunately, MP picked up on the smouldering jug just as she was going to bed which probably would have tested out whether the smoke detector batteries where honky dorey. 

Then MP’s water bottle tipped all over her mobile phone rendering it into a state of insanity but Mr Technology here came up with the brilliant idea of pulling it apart and leaving it overnight to ponder on it’s errant ways. 

Then from the ruins of these mishaps we had three wins.  Lo and behold the mobile phone fired up fresh as a daisy the next morning followed by a phone call to Braun who said they would replace the electric toothbrush for free and then a trip to Target where we found a similar jug on sale marked down from $40 to $23.  It is truly a throwaway society.

The final instalment on the meter reading saga when I’m feeling belligerent again.

  1. MM
    October 6, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Had the mobile phone not fired up you could have replaced it with one of the many 3 keep sending you …….

    Unfortunately they don’t send me anymore. Just keep billing me for phantom ones.

  2. October 7, 2011 at 1:10 am

    Have you ever noticed that whenever you come into an amount of extra cash, not earmarked for anything, that your property seems to decide at that exact moment which item among them is going to go belly-up and the cost to fix or replace is almost the same as your windfall? Its happened frequently enough to me to not to go unnoticed.

    Talking about windfalls, yesterday I felt that it was going to be my lucky day. I got up at seven, had seven dollars in my pocket, there were seven of us at lunch and there were seven horses in the seven o’clock race, so I backed the seventh.

    Guess what. It came in seventh!

  3. Thomas Houseman
    October 7, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Here I was thinking it was going to be a post about this!

    I have my own Gremlin production. Sorry, I couldn’t resist the hyperlink editing. Anal, I know.

  4. AZ
    October 7, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Let me see…

    Slab leak CHECK
    New air conditioner CHECK
    Fuel pump in truck CHECK

    Yeah, we spent thousands we didn’t have 😦

    Now they are SERIOUS gremlins!

  5. October 8, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    What’s it going to take for you to feel belligerent? Clearly the tolerance levels are way up these days. You had all those things go wrong at once and . . . . nothing!

    Mr Happy is me.

  6. October 10, 2011 at 12:24 am

    A belated (on your side of the IDL) but most sincere Happy B’Day to TP. 🙂

    MP said thanks for the HB. Reckons you’re a legend for remembering all these birthdays.

  7. October 11, 2011 at 5:17 am

    What if your haunt was jointed?

    Sounds like some council building regulation to me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

