Home > Work > Final Three Chapters

Final Three Chapters

September 16, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Since my blog was primarily used as a medium for my meter reading exploits, I suppose I should sign off from that part of my life for good.  It may take three posts so hang in there and I’ll try not to bore you.

I just realised that it’s been 6 months since I told them not to bother ringing me again and so finally ended my working life.  Never again will I dirty my hands with paid labour which started with full-time work two days after my 18th birthday on 8 January 1966 at the State Electricity Commission (SEC) and finished on 3 March 2011; a total of 16,490 days or 45.1 years hacking at the coalface (Don’t fret, I let Excel work that out).  Not all that time in the one job, I might add, as I had a nomadic period in the 70’s before coming back into the power business again in the 80’s

The old SEC was sold off in 1994 and my department went the way of the dodo in 1999 and we were offered other jobs in the new Powercor which is one of the wholesalers in this new man’s army or we could opt to take the cash and bail out.

So I ended up virtually retired at 51 and what a life of leisure I was contemplating while MP soldiered on in the classroom.  Of course, I was living in Noddy Land and even I thought it would be unfair to wave her goodbye in the mornings while I lay in bed with my cuppa and the newspaper.

I soon ended up in her school doing computer support work and also did several computer teaching sessions a week at the local Neighbourhood Centre helping drag the oldies into the 21st century. I enjoyed those jobs until the dreaded budget got in the way of my hours at the school which made it not worth getting out of bed in the mornings and made the thought of lazing in late with my cuppa and the paper appealing again.

It was not to be as I struggled with my conscience again, and in 2004, I checked contacts in the meter reading business and they offered me a job right away.  Damn!

So I toiled away in a job I enjoyed mainly for the exercise, being outdoors and working on ones lonesome.  The meter readers are an itinerant lot and not being unionised or under any Enterprise Bargaining Agreement are screwed remorselessly by AMRS, the contractor to Powercor.  You could make a reasonable hourly rate if the rounds were in good sequential order and you were willing to clap on the pace while reading but I’d hate to be a family man in this business.  More on that in Chapter 3.

I gave it away fulltime in late 2007 when MP retired and guess what happened?  I ended up bringing her the newspaper and coffee in bed each morning!  To be fair, I get up early so I can spend an hour catching up with the news and reading my blogs.  Usually very depressing.  The news, that is.

I told them I’d become mercenary, and if they got stuck, give me a call, and by the way, here’s my mercenary rate.  Gee, after all those years of working, I relished the idea of telling someone they could take it or leave it.

So as you know, I did a bit of work here and there and then on 3 March, I was asked to do a round in the next town over on a lovely sunny Autumn day.  I was half an hour into the round when I thought why am I doing this when I could be out and about on my bike or something similar.  So the seeds of finality were sown and I decided to ring them later with my resignation.

Now I could probably count on one hand the miserable low life I met while doing this job and you wouldn’t believe my good luck when I was confronted by one of life’s major morons 10 minutes later. This scum bag who thought I’d slammed his meter box door too loudly (10am by the way), and after I apologised, continued to berate and bully me thinking I would subjugate because I had a job to protect little knowing it as my last day on the job.  Talk about manna from heaven!

How I dealt with Major Moron will be Chapter 2.  Not for the kiddies that one.

  1. june in florida
    September 16, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Don’t you just want them to call so you say NO!

    It did give me something to talk about in over 900 blog posts.

    • MM
      September 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      That’s a lot of blog posts. You always were very chatty, particularly on a run when I was too busy breathing to do any talking …

      I believe in the power of communication.

  2. September 17, 2011 at 1:01 am

    I eagerly await the remainder of your trilogy. 🙂

    I’ll try and be a bit quicker than my posts of late.

  3. AZ
    September 17, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Oh how I envy you; to be able to tell off some knuckle dragging, pea brained idiot. I was never so lucky.

    You seems such a nice person I doubt whether you would ever have run into one.

  4. September 20, 2011 at 4:12 am

    hee hee I can’t wait for the next instalment!
    I went back to work after retirement too… worked for ages with no salary improvement… then when I asked for more money they said NO so I just packed up my things and went home. It felt SOOOO GOOOOOD!
    Mind you, they gave in and offered me what I asked for by the end of the week, and I went back for a month but then I said stuff it and stayed home. I love retirement.

    Having the upper hand when you leave is a great way to finish. Better than being dumped on the scrap heap.

  5. MM
    September 27, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Hurry up Dogbait, dying to read the next 2 chapters …

    Always in a hurry!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

