Home > Uncategorized > Hacked Again!

Hacked Again!

September 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Ok, well not hacked exactly, just hijacked temporarily. Muppet’s Mum here, and since DB has obviously got better things to do at the moment than post blogs, I thought I’d do one for him.

He mentioned a little while ago that I’d had some health problems. Well it’s been 6 weeks now since my major surgery and I’m due to go back to work next week which I’m really looking forward to, in fact I just can’t wait (for the benefit of any of my work colleagues who may be reading this 🙂 ). The whole saga was fairly traumatic but with so many wonderful friends and family surrounding me I was able to remain calm and positive throughout.

It’s amazing how, when faced with such a life-changing experience, how your real friends show their true colours. I don’t think I truly appreciated up to that point what an amazing community I live in, and that even people I thought I didn’t know very well, stepped up to the mark and offered the most amazing love and support.

Six weeks later and my freezer is still full of food and I have only just started to do my own housework again. I did try to tell people it would be months and months before I could do any housework but I don’t think they believed me 🙂

Of course I always knew DB and MP were special, and have always appreciated the unconditional love, care and support they give to myself and Muppet. During my hospital stay once again they cared for my animals – the dogs got more exercise than they usually do and the fleabag was given more affection than ever. They collected my mail and kept an eye on the house. They did my washing and ironing (even my doona covers!!!!!). When I returned from hospital the house was spotless – they had been in the day before and cleaned it from top to bottom. When I couldn’t drive, they came over in the mornings and drove Muppet to school for me. They did my grocery shopping and drove me to appointments. I’m sure there are lots of other things they did that I may not have mentioned here but you get the picture. Most of all though, they offered their love, support and encouragement and they also remained positive throughout.

They are still trying to get me back on the bike and hopefully in a week or so I’ll be ready to do that.

Of course there were many other friends and family who provided me with amazing support, it’s just that I don’t have access to hack their blogs to say a big thank you!

So, to DB and MP, I just wanted to say THANK YOU. Love you guys xxx

PS. If there are any characters that don’t make sense in this post it’s because I’m just an amateur hacker and don’t know how to use WordPress!!!

  1. Thomas Houseman
    September 2, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    LOL, aren’t good friends great!

    p.s. you did fab. on wordpress too… 🙂

    • MM
      September 2, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      Yep, they sure are! Had to make a few edits with WordPress but I got there in the end.

  2. September 2, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    I knew you had been ill but it was downplayed so I thought it was minor. My error, obviously.

    Happy that you are recovering and ecstatic to see a post from you.

    As always, my love goes out to you and HM.

    • MM
      September 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      Thanks Wil, I’m well on the road to recovery now.

  3. September 2, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Yeah, so okay we’re bloody saints but did you have to scare the bejasus out of me with that heading!

    As we keep telling you, it’s more brownie points for when we need the dribble wiped and the incontinence pads changed. 😀

    And thanks for those very kind comments.

    • MM
      September 2, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      I thought I told you I’m happy to help with the dribble but you’ll have to get someone else to change your nappy 🙂

      Spoil sport! Or is it no soil sport?

  4. june in florida
    September 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I also didn’t know how major your surgery was, so glad your ok and in good form, body may be a little slower getting back than the mind but it will come.You always knew MP and DB were the best friends they just confirmed it.I bet Ms Muppet is helping too.One day at a time, it will get better. So sorry you wont be able to do housework for a while i know Reg will continue to help.

  5. September 3, 2011 at 10:49 am

    You are so lucky to have such great people to help you out when you need someone. It was obviously “just what the doctor ordered”. And I bet you’d do exactly the same for them if they needed help. Good to know you are recovering. Keep on doing just that, and never mind the housework.

  6. AZ
    September 3, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    DB is a saint! Okay maybe not a saint, but he’s helped me with my computer problems several times, and let me to you that’s no small feat considering we have a bit of mileage between us. I say DB is numero uno in my book, and I’d scream that from a mountain top, but I ain’t changing his nappies for nuttin’. :/

    Good to hear from you MM, and good to hear that you are on the mend after your health issue. Hope Muppet administered to your medical needs like she does with DB. 🙂

  7. September 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I had no idea! I hope that there wasn’t a large amount of pain involved! I’m pleased that you’re well on the way to recovery by the time I find out. 🙂

  8. The Librarian
    September 3, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Lovely post. Thanks for writing it MM. National treasures they are (no,no, I didn’t mean they belong in a museum). Best wishes for your recovery

  9. MM
    September 5, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Thanks everyone for your well wishes for my recovery. DB & MP are doing my housework for me again today, but they’ve just told me they’ll soon be heading away for a few weeks break, so I guess I’ll have to find somebody else after this! They deserve a break after a tough few months themselves, so I’m sure it will help them recharge their own batteries.

  10. September 10, 2011 at 6:41 am

    So wonderful to have people like this in your life. There are so many that say “call for help,” and then others that just show up and roll up their sleeves, so you don’t have the pressure of making that call. This is heartwarming.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

