Home > Home Front > Life Goes On

Life Goes On

We saw dad off in fine style last Tuesday.  The funeral people said that those in their 90’s tend to have outlived all their friends and not to expect big crowds.  We thought probably 30 to 40 and ended up with 80 people comprising a core of family friends and then a good turnout of my sister and brothers friends, some who travelled distances to pay their respects.  I’d like to thank MM and JC for representing my side.

Anyway, life goes on and I was out and about on the bike today.  The weather is summer like at the moment and should hold for the rest of the week.  The best thing about the ride on such a beautiful day was the thought that we could it again on Monday while the workers of the world slave away.

Suckers!

 

 

 

 

 

      New heritage shelter on the Rail Trail                               Beautiful day at the beach

 

 

 

           Lots using the new bridge                                             Money well spent

  1. june in florida
    August 22, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Your Dad would have liked that good sendoff.

    At least we did.

  2. MM
    August 22, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Nice day for it. I enjoyed a long walk along the beach today too. Doggies had fun as well!

    Tom’s funeral was lovely too, I particularly enjoyed your stories 🙂

    I did put a tick in FB re your epic along the beach. So when’s the bike ride?

    I held back on some other stories about his charmed life in Palestine which I’ll tell you about one day.

    • MM
      August 23, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      I could try a short ride this week-end.

      It was a really, really short one.

  3. August 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Good bye to your dad. And congratulations to him for getting 80 people at the funeral. That’s quite an acheivement when you’re in your 90s. A few years ago I went to a funeral of a 93 year old and only 5 people attended. And I was only a “hanger-on”, a friend of the brother of the partner pf the son of the deceased…..
    The beach looks great, wish I could have a stroll along that path. Cool and a bit grey here today.
    Twins are thriving…. putting on wight, sleeping all day, and crying all night.

    Hi Granny. I bet you wonder what you did with all your spare time now that you have 4 grandkiddies.

  4. August 25, 2011 at 2:01 am

    Isn’t it strange the way we count the people who attend our funerals as a measure of our lives?

    Fare thee well to your pops. And good pedals to you and yours, for many many more miles (kilometers) to come…

    Do you think I’m going to care if no one turns up to my funeral.

  5. Anonymous
    September 1, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I am waiting to see what you are going to say about your Dad.

    And who might I ask wants to know?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

