Home > Misc > The Life Cycle

The Life Cycle

Life starts, life ends. My father passed away on Tuesday 9 August, just 5 days into his 97th year.

He took a fall in his room and broke his hip.  For a very tough and strong man, the operation was too much for his tired body and he slipped into a coma and passed away peacefully with his family rallied around.

Fortunately my brother was able to return from Bali in time to chat with him last Saturday for which we are thankful.

The funeral will be next Tuesday and I will report more later on about our great father.

  1. MM
    August 11, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Farewell to a wonderful man. Nice photo. Our thoughts are with you and your family Reg xx

    Thanks Dawn.
    šŸ˜€

  2. Thomas Houseman
    August 12, 2011 at 5:43 am

    97, wow! Sounds like a pretty good innings!
    Condolences to you and your family.

    T.

    Thanks, Thomas. By the way, he was a Thomas too and still a popular name.

  3. AZ
    August 12, 2011 at 6:11 am

    Sorry for your loss. Your Dad lived a good long life, and from your stories a very exciting one filled with danger at times. Cheers to a life well lived.

    Hear, Hear!

  4. june in florida
    August 12, 2011 at 11:20 am

    He will be missed, what a full and adventurous life he had. I so enjoyed his story.My thoughts are with you and your family.

    Thank you, June. A great family man too.

  5. Brian.
    August 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Sincerest condolences, he sure had a great and adventurous life, our thoughts are with you and family.

    Thank you, Brian.

  6. August 13, 2011 at 12:37 am

    No matter how much we are aware that it’s going to happen sooner or later, the death of a parent is a hard blow. My sincere condolences to you and your family, it’s a sad time for everyone. But you can take comfort in the fact that he lived a long and productive life, sprinkled with a few adventures along the way. My own dad lived a long happy life, well into his 96th year, which I am grateful for. Hugs to you!

    Your comments are much appreciated, Shammy.

    • August 13, 2011 at 12:41 am

      I just clicked on your “life starts” link, thank you so much. You made me cry.

      Ah, Shucks!

  7. Bob
    August 13, 2011 at 5:16 am

    Condolences on the loss of what must have been a treasure of a man.

    Hi Bob. He certainly was.

  8. August 13, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Sorry I am late responding. I really appreciated that self-narrated tape you posted from your Dad earlier this year. I never met him but I truly enjoyed him. He led an amazingly adventurous life. I am going to miss him very much. Never mourn the death but celebrate the life. My thoughts are with you and your family/friends.

    Many thanks, Wil.

  9. August 15, 2011 at 1:00 am

    I am sorry to hear the news.

    Even at 97 it is a loss and a sad event.

    Make everyday count.

    Scott–

    A very apt last line. Thanks, Scott.

  10. Ash
    August 15, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Please accept my heartfelt condolences….

    Much appreciated.

  11. August 18, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I am so sorry to read this, Reg. What a treasure to have had him here for so long; I’m sure he’ll be missed. Hugs.

    Many thanks Lori.

  12. September 1, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Coming in late here but I’m sorry for your loss. My thoughts are with you and the family.

    Many thanks.

  13. September 3, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I’m just back from our annual family holiday to this news :-(. Please know that I send my deepest sympathies and my thoughts are with you and your family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

