Home > Rants > Groundhog Day

Groundhog Day

Sorry for the big gaps between posts but I’ll make up for it in the next couple.  Unfortunately, they will be lengthy but bear with me because they make for good reading.  I was going to serialise this one, but what the heck, it would lose impact if I didn’t thrust it at you in one fell swoop.

Four weeks ago, we received our mobile phone bill from our carrier, 3 , with an offer for an upgrade for two free Nokia E5 phone for being such “loyal” customers.  Now, to get your minds around this plot, I’m going to quote some Nokia model numbers for you to memorize: N5, N65, N63 and 6700.

The day after receiving the letter offering us an E5, we hightailed it into a Three office in town to be told that they were out of stock but try another branch in the suburbs.  No luck there either so we went home and I rang them up to be told that they were out of stock in the whole country!  Begs the question why they offered it in the first place.

However, all was not lost because they offered us an E65 instead.  A week went by and no phone arrives so onto the blower again to be informed that they have no stocks of the E65’s but they have E63’s instead.  Ah, she says, there are now E5’s available so would you like those instead?  By this stage, I was quite willing to take one of these!

I might add, that each time this happens, I have to go through a recorded contract rigmarole.  Let’s not digress or else we’ll be here until Christmas. 

So two hours later a text message arrives to say, sorry, no E5’s after all so she’ll make it the E63 instead.

Groundhog day continues.

Next day another text arrives to say the E63’s aren’t available after all so back onto the blower we go to be now transferred to their Customer “Care” section somewhere in India.  By the way, all of the above were conducted through an Aussie call centre so you can imagine my nerves by knowing that I’d have to explain all of this to some underpaid sod in an Indian sweatshop who can barely speak or understand Strine.

A couple of bottles of Scotch helped and the lass was quite understanding, literally and figuratively, and offered us two Nokia 6700 slide phones instead.  More “rigmarole” followed and then she mentioned that our account had been been hit with four lots of delivery charges for phones we had never received and four lots of contract cancellation fees.  You can imagine that I nearly had an apoplectic fit at this delightful news but she assured me that it would all be credited but they would still have to charge an $18 delivery fee.  I think the tone of my voice saying, “No you won’t”  was sufficient for her to cancel that charge.

That was last Friday.

The courier arrived at the door on Monday with, wait for it………two brand new Nokia E63’s.

On Tuesday he arrived with two shiny Nokia 6700’s

On Wednesday………

Nothing so far.  We can only hold out hope.

I promise I didn’t make any of that up.

 

PS.   MP here.  I’m pleased to announce that DB is recovering well and should be discharged from the institution soon.

  1. MM
    June 9, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Any deliveries today? Look at it this way, at least you have a choice of phones to use now, and even a couple of spares!

    All’s quiet thank goodness although the next bill will be interesting. Stay tuned.

    It was tempting to try the others out but I was told to just reject any deliveries. I told the courier not to bother delivering anymore parcels for the next week. This phone has a keyboard likes yours and is great for texting as you would know. Has some other great features like it makes phone calls. 😀

    • MM
      June 9, 2011 at 6:22 pm

      Wow, a phone that makes phone calls, now that’s unusual 🙂

      All this awe inspiring technology these days! I took dad out today for a coffee and pulled into the drive-in Bendigo Bank ATM at the corner of Pako and Aberdeen Sts. You should have seen the expression on his face as I leant out the window to get my cash. Priceless!

      Then I tried explaining how all his bills get paid automatically out of his account. His comment was, “I’m getting too old for this world”

  2. june in florida
    June 9, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Had the same situation with my car insurance,they offer a gismo to plug into your car that monitors your driving and hopefully when they see what a careful driver i am lower my rates.So went on line filled in details and am informed so sorry gismo cannot be applied to my 2001 Focus.Ok no big deal. Got email today, gismo is on its way.

    Late in 1994, I first heard the terms “outsourcing” and “back office/front office” and knew then we were doomed to a life of abject incompetence and inefficiency.

  3. Mary
    June 9, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    You got the phones that weren’t available???? And I thought Telstra was bad (and I still do!!!)

    At least they turned out to be the better ones.

  4. June 9, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    just remember that straitjackets tie at the back….

    I just can’t get this ringing out of my head.

  5. June 11, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    That’s when it’s time to just call it in…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

