Home > Humour > Hey You

Hey You

MP was getting her hair cut so I mozzie over to Gloria Jeans for a latte. These coffee spots pop your name into the register and call for you when ready.  I hate my name being called out in public; how would you feel if someone shouts out, “Dogbait, ya coffee is ready”.

So when she asks for my name, I said I would be sitting in front of the servery so just call out, “Hey, you!”.  I was called that a lot when I was meter reading so I could easily identify with such a name.  She was having a bit of a giggle so I gave her my name anyway and sat down. 

MP joins me and next I hear this loud bellow, “HEY YOU!” with the lass having a big chuckle obviously enjoying the occasion. 

The funniest thing was the guy on the table next to me stood up and went to the counter too.

What the odds of two Hey You’s in the one place!

  1. june in florida
    May 17, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Maybe your related, long lost cousin ? Speaking of relatives, how is the Chinese branch doing, very quiet lately?

    What, more of them!

    Haven’t heard much myself. Seems he’s a bit busy for blogging of late.

  2. MM
    May 18, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Next time give them a name like “Tarquin” or something equally poncy. (Apologies to any Tarquins reading this blog 🙂 ).

    I’m tempted to use Tionjewlnique just to throw a spanner in the works. That’s a real name, by the way.

    I’m pretty sure I don’t have any Tarquin’s reading the blog. 😀

  3. Tarquin
    May 18, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Wadayamean you don’t have any readers named Tarquin! Oh wait a second, my name isn’t Tarquin it’s Tionjewlnique! Yeah! That’s my name!

    The name I hear given at restaurants is Donner, because when they call out “Donner party of six” everybody snickers.

    Your friend always, Tionjewlnique 🙂

    I’ve just had a brainwave. I’ll use Tarquin or maybe Arizona next time and video her shouting it out and stick it on Utube

  4. May 18, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    How did you know my middle name is Tarquin?

    So you were named after either Tarquin Blackwood, a fictional character from The Vampire Chronicles or General Tarquin, the evil character from the webcomic The Order of the Stick?

  5. May 19, 2011 at 2:47 am

    Then there is the very juvenile classic “Mike Hunt”, or ones you can make up (off the top of my head) Reg Lichtersum… Bob Benover… Fred Nott…

    I got a feeling it would be fun ordering coffee with you.

  6. muscat55
    May 23, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Last time I was at Gloria Jeans, the girl looked me up and down and said , “just sit and I’ll bring your coffee over” Of course I was suffering from cracked ribs and collar bone, so I did appreciate it!

    Nice touch. The one in Bay City in Geelong was in a Borders store that has closed so it’s gone too.

  7. May 24, 2011 at 12:32 am

    All this fun and joviality is avoided when in Sydney.
    You get either a number on a stick, when order ready number is yelled out or number comes up on a digital read out. Or you get one of those square vibrating musical things that play’s some stupid tune and jump’s all over your table when order is ready.

    No jokes about the vibrating thing please.

    We have numbers on a stick too but haven’t seen the vibrator yet.

    • MM
      May 24, 2011 at 10:00 pm

      I was introduced to those vibrating thingies on my recent trip to Qld 🙂

      Lucky you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

