Home > Travel > Odds and Sods

Odds and Sods

An administrative matter: you don’t have to fill out your email address to comment now. The KISS principle.  I’ve been trying to keep out the riff-raff to no avail. Winking smile

I finished meter reading three weeks back and I was going to finish off with a major rant about how the meter readers are treated these days and why they are leaving in droves and why I told them to shove it.  The behaviour of the two companies involved beggars belief but I’ll save it up for when I’m in a bad mood and have an urge to vent.

MP is still in her moon bootie but is bearing up well with all the inactivity.  No him indoors for me so I’ve been out and about on my bike and enjoying some good autumn weather and the solitude of the Rail Trail and around the local towns.

About 9k from our place is the old Marcus railway station which was previously called the Ocean Grove station back in the 19th century.  The place was a booming stop where horse coaches collected the day trippers and took them to the beach for a paddle and then back for the return journey to Geelong. You can just make out the mound of the old station platform where the high grass is behind the seat. The station closed in 1961 and you can read the history of the Geelong to Queenscliff Railway here if you can be interested.

Note the abundant green grass which is extraordinary for March because you would normally see burnt, brown stubble after a long, hot summer, but not this year with our wet and cool “hot” season.  You could hide a herd of cows in there and no one would know.

Then it was down to Queenscliff for a coffee and to check out how the service to my boat is coming along. Since our dollar is now $1.04 to the Yankee one, I’ve been buying up big on the internetty and it was then along to the beach to see my shipment arrive.

  1. Thomas Houseman
    April 1, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Looks like your boat is getting a great service there. Not a barnacle in sight. So when are we going out on it together? 🙂

    Can I get it up as far as Ferry Wharf?

  2. John Quelch
    April 1, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Is that what they call a ‘tinny’ in Australia. A bit tiny for the Southern Ocean isn’t it? Happy April Fools to you too! RD

    I might just take my tiny tinny for a jaunt up the Yangtze.

  3. june in florida
    April 1, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    You need a bigger boat. I will treat, checks in the mail.

    Oh, goody! Hopefully enough for this one.

  4. April 2, 2011 at 6:52 am

    I’m really looking forward to a few days bobbing about on the ocean next time I’m in Aussie…. just make sure the boat’s all shipshape and Bristol fashion by then will ya?

    June is helping me upgrade so you’ll have plenty of cabins to pick from.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

