Home > Work > The End

The End

I started this blog in November 2005 mainly to chronicle my exploits (where you can see I got my name) as an electricity meter reader.  I chucked in fulltime work in October 2007 and retired to draw on the Super and live the life of Riley.  Of course, the day after I made that decision, the GFC reared it’s ugly head, but so what, she’ll be right.

My masters asked if I would be available in times of emergency and I told them I needed plenty of this to entice me out of bed. I did a bit of work here and there and I only did 6 rounds this financial year.  Also, the government tossed a grand into my Super if I did around 3 weeks work a year so it was money for old rope. 

Of course, as soon as I finished a bout of work, I kept telling people that I’ve retired again and again when if fact I was still on the books, albeit on the last page.  Well, last Friday week it finished for good and I told them to take me off the books and my name out of the Rolodex. 

So what made up my mind that work was for suckers and it was high time I retired to my rocking chair and slippers?  Was it the brainless moron who came down the street and threatened to report me to the masters for scaring two old ladies who thought I was about to break into their house and rape them or was it the deplorable state of the meter reading system and how badly the meter readers are treated these days.

Actually it was the second one as I could easily handle Brainless Moron who thought he could bully and threaten some hapless meter reader who he thought couldn’t defend himself because he had his job to protect, but boy, was he sorely mistaken.

More on these tomorrow as I need to be aware of my readers attention span.

  1. March 18, 2011 at 8:10 am

    You’re going to miss scaring old ladies. 😉 I sure hope your darling isn’t in much pain!

    Gee, you’re on the ball. I only just posted that.

    She’s getting around on the foot without crutches or pain so that’s a good sign. We’re off to the doctor in an hour so hopefully the plaster comes off today. She’s looking forward to just being able to walk again.

  2. John Quelch
    March 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Now I know scarring old ladies is not your style. As for the neighbourhood watch guy, I hope you didn’t give him a coronory. They owe you at least one rolex. Hope MM makes a quick recovery. Be happy!

    MP is a lot happier now that the irritating plaster is off. She has a moon boot now but a lot more comfortable.

  3. june in florida
    March 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    I think you probably found the straw etc. I am all ears you got my attention.

    The next episode could take some telling so it might give me food for a couple of posts. Then no more meter reading stories. Ever!

  4. March 18, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Short attention span!?!
    Who’s got a short att….

    What were we talking about again?

    Who are you?

  5. june in florida
    March 18, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    re reply to John, i am sure MM is happy the plaster is off but i bet MP is even happier.

    Yeah, I know, the problems with getting old.

  6. AZ
    March 19, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Am I late? Wadayamean short atten…
    OH LOOK something shiny…

    Pay attention or it will be off to the office for you young lass.

  7. muscat55
    March 20, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Wow! have you really, actually retired? Glad to hear MP’s cast is off, the moon boots look cute!

    I can’t recall posting a picture of the moon boot.

  8. March 20, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    The spiders will be awful lonely….

    Left in peace more likely.

  9. March 21, 2011 at 8:02 am

    You’re actually retiring from the meter readers of this world? WoW! Actually I don’t blame you a bit. I retired, then went back to work for 4-1/2 years (it was supposed to be 6 months till a new person was trained) and when I finally said “that’s enuffff” I was SO HAPPY! Well, done, good decision. Now you can get on with the rest of your life!

    Well, actually, I’ve felt retired all along considering the little work I did do so it really hasn’t felt much different. At least I won’t have to worry about the phone calls and the temptation of the filthy lucre.

    • March 21, 2011 at 11:07 am

      regarding your comment on my blog, yes, Australia is full (well almost) with Shammy rellies, we have Perth, Albany, Melbourne, ACT and various areas of Brisbane covered.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

