Home > Home Front > Curley, Larry and Moe

Curley, Larry and Moe

February 9, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

The Red Dragon flies back to China next Tuesday and so we took dad to Easter Beach and the Beach House cafe today for a final family outing which he enjoyed immensely.

Dad was a champion school swimmer in his youth in London and he taught us to swim at Eastern Beach when we were kids and we spent many a hot summer day there cooling off.

I was only about 8 or 9 when I saw dad dive off this board, then do a couple of somersaults and hit the water with barely a splash.  How that impressed a young tacker!  It was a lot higher in those days but we all have to be wrapped up in cotton wool these days.

It was a cool, school day and only one person in swimming so the lifeguards must have been bored out of their brains.  The ironic thing was that a guy drowned here last week even with lifeguards on duty but the talk is that he had a heart attack.

Sorry for the morbid end to what started out as a merry little babble.

  1. February 9, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    What fantastic photos! The one of the three of you is really great – such a good looking family!

    That’s a lovely memory of your father and swimming. When we were at the lake when I was a kid I don’t remember either of my parents getting in. The only adult person who ever got into the water was my Gran. I am going to be like HER when I have grandkids.

    Peggy, there is only one good looking one in that photo! You couldn’t raffle the other two.

    Dad had one of his very lucid days today and his sense of humour never ceases to amaze me. His offspring were talking about the skin cancers we all inherited from him and he pipes up, “Well at least you all inherited my great brains”

  2. February 10, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Nice pix of the beach, makes me jealous, I’d love to be sitting on that beach right now. I really miss being by the sea.
    My mum and dad didn’t swim, even though we lived by the beach, so a neighbour, who happened to be Terry-Thomas’ mother, taught me to swim. That’s my only claim to fame.

    I couldn’t survive not living by the sea. Nice story about Terry-Thomas’ mother. I presume it was somewhere in Devon.

  3. june in florida
    February 10, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I like you all with folded arms, must be a family thing. Had my second cataract surgery today,everything aok.

    We staged that pose. Good one with your surgery. You’ll probably see a lot better now.

  4. muscat55
    February 10, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Your Dad looks great!

    A bit rough around the edges now.

  5. Maree by the Sea
    February 10, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Photos are fab, bless your Dad he reminds me of my own who also made it to the Naughty Nineties! He taught us all to swim pretty much not long after being able to walk, mandatory. Keep up your blog I really enjoy it and because I miss Apollo Bay so much it keeps me in touch with the coast on a regular basis.

    Maree, thanks for your comments and encouragement. We’ll try and get the Red Dragon back to blogging as soon as he gets back to China.

  6. AZ
    February 10, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    You’re the spittin’ image of your Dad, so does your brother favor your Mom? I hope I look as good as your Dad when I reach his age.

    My first swimming lesson was a frightful one, dear ol’ Dad took my sister and I out on a boat in the middle of Apache Lake and threw us overboard. I think I was five my sister a little over six, it took us years to get over the fear or water, boats, and Dad.

    Mum died back in 1976. Dad remarried and lives with his wife in Aged Care now. You’ll note I don’t talk about her at all.

    Sounds like your father wasn’t the nicest of individuals.

  7. Travelling Librarian
    February 10, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    Love the photo of the 3 of you 🙂

    I don’t think there will be too many more.

  8. MM
    February 11, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Eastern Beach looks very peaceful, quite different to a couple of weeks ago when you couldn’t move for the people! Great photo of you old blokes, another one for the album 🙂

    Isn’t it always peaceful like that? Ah, you go when the workers of the world are having their few miserable days off.

  9. March 1, 2011 at 2:04 am

    Please come back to posting, DB. I miss your wisdom and insights.

    I’m not sure I’d call my babblings “wisdom and insights”. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

