Home > Misc, Rants > Hacked and Moving On

Hacked and Moving On

February 7, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Shite head wiped out a lot of my posts but I was able to recover all but two of them so a successful recovery.  Numb nuts took over my WordPress account but I was able to break back in and reclaim my house so to speak.  I documented steps I took, so if it happens again, I’ll be prepared. 

Thanks for the encouraging comments from my regular readers.  I got very frustrated after that but then I thought why let dickless twits like that beat me.

For something more pleasant.  Some photos of the walk with our friend Tanya yesterday (Gallery and  Slideshow) . We’d forgotten with all this rain of late that the Barwon would spill it’s load for the umpteenth time over the last 8 months so it was a bit of bush bashing urban style to avoid the puddles.

Check out the flood marker photo.  We arrived in Oz in January 1952 and the previous winter had been one of those “one hundred year floods” when it got to 5.1 metres on that marker.  Well the next hundred year one occurred 6 months later in the winter of 1952 when it never stopped raining for months and the river got up to 5.5 metres.

I remember as a 4 year old in a new house on an unmade road in a new suburb and the place was buried in a sea of mud.  You had to give credit to my parents for their resilience in battling it out and not surrendering to the elements and going home to England.

I can assure you they weren’t the good old days.

  1. Thomas Houseman
    February 7, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Hmm, glad you managed to recover the blog!

    What’s the snake sign say? Caution – sea snakes ahead?

    “Beware snakes may be active along this path”. What path?

  2. Thomas Houseman
    February 7, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Oh and I still like smugmug. Every time I visit your slideshows etc, I think I should ditch Picasa and sign up to them…

    Are you happy with them?

    T.

    Very happy. It’s $40 a year for Basic but well worth it. Unlimited uploads and very flexible to use. You can go Pro for $60 which allows you to upload 1080p HD movies and Professional for fancy photographers. Very fast and easy uploading photos and linking is easier than the others. If you do join, let me know because I can get a discount of $10 for sending you along.

  3. june in florida
    February 8, 2011 at 4:28 am

    Hip, hip, hooray. Keep those pics handy next time you have a drought.

    Drought? What’s that?

  4. February 8, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Glad you are back in business and that you haven’t abandoned your blog because of stupid hackers. I may not leave a comment each time I read your ramblings, but I appreciate what you write and your pictures, and sometimes I’m unable to log in for a couple of days…. I’m a busy gal you know!
    You sure are having a load of rain, I hear Melbourne is having floods now.

    I don’t comment on yours everytime either but I’m always interested in what happens around the Toronto area and the grandkiddies etc.

    Have you seen this special report video about snow in Toronto. Very funny! I thought it might be making fun of your neighbours but it’s more taking the mickey out of Toronto itself.

    What’s this “busy” business? You’re retired!

    Sorry, have to rush. Things to do, places to go.

  5. February 9, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I’m glad you’re staying for a bit longer. 🙂 I’m thinking with all this rain, the vegetation is going to go a bit rampant . . . and when it dries out . . . fire hazard! Keep the shrubbery under control NOW!

    The grass is so green and still growing and that’s unheard of in February. Usually everything is burnt brown by now. We’ve had a very mild Feb so far and with more rain forecast for the next few months with El Nina still hanging around, I doubt we’ll have a fire season this summer. Farmers have been doing a second hay harvest which is bizarre.

  6. February 9, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Oh, that was a “snake” sign…
    I thought it was walking instructions for any drunks on the path.

    What path?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

