Home > Travel > The Ride Part 2

The Ride Part 2

November 9, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Day 4 – 50k.  Cycle to Jiu Long

After the usual fare of rice porridge and dumplings, it was a short trip out of town on our bus where we alighted to find it much cooler and the humidity had dropped considerably because I had feared the whole trip would be done in the dastardly heat of the previous three days.

We rode along quiet country roads with lots of wheat, rice and duck farms and then tackled a big hill and through a tunnel for our first glimpse of the famous karst formations.  Came to another town in full swing with a market so we walked our bikes through the teeming masses for safety. 

We got to our hotel for lunch and rode out to a cave system where we took a boat ride through the caves and then a walk through a small settlement where some of the crew had a go at grinding rice; not too well I might add.  Then it was back to the hotel which kindly provided a convenient power outlet for our hair dryers.  Then it was off for dinner and a walk around town where we provided the local entertainment for the night.

Day 5 – 112k – Cycle to Yangshan  

The big day!  The biggest uphill, longest downhill and longest distance for the trip.  Through miles of beautiful karst country and then a 4k, steep climb and then 10k downhill at speed trying desperately to avoid the massive potholes at every corner but we all made it down safely.  Another picnic lunch where table manners hadn’t improved from the first one and then a long afternoon in the heat where we made the hotel after a momentous day.  We were rewarded with a nice hotel, big flat screen TV which was a waste as we were flaked out by 9pm.

I’m finding it difficult to motivate myself in doing these posts, as apart from my long time regular readers, there doesn’t seem much interest from others in this travel diary.  We get our new bikes tomorrow so might head off for a bit.

  1. MM
    November 9, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Those poor ducks! Whatever happened to free range?

    You’re worried about the ducks! What do you think happens to these!

    • MM
      November 11, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      Lunch I guess 😦

  2. june in florida
    November 10, 2010 at 1:37 am

    I have been reading and looking, just no time to comment.Love that electrical outlet, though it did seem to be ground fault. Great pics, we are learning so much about China from you and Junior. It is giving me a whole new view of China, more personal.

    June, thanks for the encouragement.

  3. Geoff of Catch a falling star fame ?
    November 10, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Motivation I would think being retired and enjoying another country is all the motivation you need? I have had a quick look at your photos and I wish I was there riding along on a pushbike as well.

    The motivation part is writing about it. Firmly entrenched in my memory banks though. By the way, we’ll have to think up a suitable nickname for you. Maybe Geoff Cafs?

  4. AZ
    November 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    I’ve been through your slides three times already. Each time I look at the pictures I notice something new, like the Pepsi banner in the marketplace photo, you just can’t escape the American influence no matter where you travel. I realize the narratives take some time and effort, but be assured I’ve enjoyed every paragraph. As for eating dog, it reminds me a family friend who taught high school English, she made all her students write a paper on foods they missed eating since moving to the US, one of her students was amazed that you couldn’t get monkey meat in the US, so I guess nothing seems strange if you grow up eating it. When the US kids made faces at the thought of eating monkey, she reminded her Mexican-American students that some people cringe at the thought of eating soup made of cow’s stomach and hominy. I for one, was fooled into eating horse once, to my amazement I immediately knew what I was eating because I’ve never tasted meat that was actually sweet. One bite and I said “IS THIS HORSE?” I didn’t take a second bite. So did you taste dog while on your trip? Might you have eaten dog unknowingly? Do you catch yourself scratching behind your ear with your foot? Chase Sammy up a tree? Have a urge to round up sheep? Just askin’.

    Thanks for your ringing endorsement of my waffle. At least you’ve now solved the problem of why I cock my leg up against a post all the time!

  5. Thomas Houseman
    November 10, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Eeek, talk about an unsafe powerpoint!

    Yeah, that had me thinking about any bare wires wrapped around pipes in the wall. You have to wonder why it’s there.

  6. November 11, 2010 at 10:27 am

    One of the things I remember about SE Asia was the street vendors who would skin a live cat and throw it into a pot of boiling oil. I was soooo tempted to fall back on my cannibal ancestry and do the same to the vendors. Have eaten dog before, very popular on Indian reservations, and I do enjoy horse meat, very lean and sweet. Cow’s eyeball is a delicacy in northern Mexico.

    DB, your trip was fascinating and I have enjoyed all the pics. Thanks for the effort of sharing them with us.

    It’s what we are brought up on that makes us perceive that anything else is revolting or socially unacceptable. I wonder if the Chinese would like a spot of shark that we devour with gusto.

    • November 12, 2010 at 12:33 am

      I am sure the shark would enjoy a spot of Chinese 😉

  7. November 11, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I got halfway through looking at your pictures, then the phone rang…. and I’m supposed to be packing ready for my house move so I haven’t got round to looking at the second half yet. Looks like you had a great trip. I’m still chuckling about the electric point up there on the wall, kinda strange I think. China looks very modern these days…. I always imagine it to be all rice paddies and pagodas, but of course the big cities are just as modern as ours are.

    It is all rice paddies and pagodas out in the country but the cities could be anywhere in the world.

  8. November 11, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Just looked through (very fast) your other pix, the terracotta army is fantastic! I had no idea it was so extensive. We had a couple of the statues here in Toronto in an exhibition not long ago.

    There is a fair portion of the warriors that haven’t been excavated yet and it would take an army of people to do so.

  9. Red Dragon
    November 12, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    What you worried about at least it’s well above the water line. The electrical wiring throughout the old buildings in China is mind blowing! Thanks keep writing, I am enjoying it immensely when I get a chance to look.

    I shouldn’t be complaining as you struggled to find a power point in some of the rural hotels. Then again, you get two showers in some hotels.

  10. Ian
    November 13, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    DB rest assured that I too read all your posts, and have done so for years. I don’t normally comment as I have nothing to further to offer… many thanks for your perseverance… I’m really enjoying your trip.

    Thanks also for the earlier link to Johnny Wuhu… another great read.

    Cheers and regards.

    Ian, thanks for making yourself known and your endorsement of my waffle. babble. It helps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

