Home > Rants > Where’s the Couch

Where’s the Couch

Don’t read on if you want to avoid a vicious Dogbait rant.

What is it with me and people.  I must have a face that reads, “Use and abuse me”.  I have a few computer skills which attracts calls from friends, friends of friends six times removed and even strangers (they’re 7 times removed) who are on the blower requesting that I fix their computer problems. 

I spend hours driving to their house, fixing their computer, giving lessons and sometimes can barely crack it for a thank you or a coffee.  I don’t charge nor do I ask for payment and leave it up to the goodwill of the person.  If they ask, I profess a fondness for fruit cake for a small job or movie tickets for something more than plugging the power cable back in.  For bigger jobs like building a computer, reformatting and reloading all the software or long sessions of tuition, lounging in the Gold Class cinema is appealing.  I’d like to inform you that I’m not getting fat.

If I tell you about the latest effort I’ll end up in an apoplectic fit and Dogbait frothing at the mouth isn’t a pleasant sight.  If you really want to send me into a maniacal rage, ask me about the former good friend, who for no reason, no longer wants to know us.  I know, that’s one no, no, know, too many.

I’m so pissed off with people at the moment that I’m even starting to feel sorry for the next person who rings me wanting something.

Thanks, doctor, I’m feeling better already.

  1. July 2, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    If you do not wish to continue to feel resentful, print up a list of prices. Your friends/customers can then refer to the list when asking for your assistance.

    You may feel mercenary but it is a whole lot better than feeling put upon and resentful.

    You have value and it should be known. 🙂

    As I said, I relied on the goodwill of the person and I didn’t think I would have to remind people about simple courtesies. It’s irrelevant now as I’ve got better things to do with my time.

  2. July 3, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Bleh.

    People.

    Yeah.

    Sometimes kindness will make you wither faster than selfishness.

    I feel like some camping under the stars and some Folk music.

  3. antikva
    July 3, 2010 at 3:20 am

    I was just discussing this with another person who is also frustrated & hurt at also being abused like this. I have no clue why there seems to be more mememe’s than ever but I am at the same point in my life. I no longer bother with people who only value me as a free access point to something.

    Hugs though, as it’s very bewildering to suddenly find yourself losing a friend, even if they are a numpty.

    Thank you. I did detect that you were feeling the same from your recent post.

  4. Thomas Houseman
    July 3, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Yes, family only now for computer support, or if someone begs/pleads, I charge in good bottles of wine only. i.e. go to your local cellarland and buy me a $60 bottle of red.

    Gee, $60 bottles of red! Whenever I buy a bottle for someone, it’s around the $10 mark. I’d better up the ante or else I’ll be on the receiving end of someone else’s rant.

  5. muscat55
    July 3, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Oh dear DB, you helped me with my computer a year or two ago, and I was so in awe of your ability, did that stop me thanking you enough, I’m consumed with guilt, so thank you, thank you, thank you!

    I never thought of you when I went on the rant. You put us up for the weekend and were great hosts and it’s I who should be saying thank you. Anytime you want advice, feel free to ask.

    • muscat55
      July 4, 2010 at 10:32 am

      A very relieved thank you, we enjoyed your company very much during your visit, and a bed is always ready for you both should you wish to return to our area.

  6. AZ
    July 3, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    You are my go to guy for all things software, my BFF’s husband is my hardware guy. The last time my hard drive took a dump, BFF’s husband came over, removed both my hard drives, and purchased two hard drives on his credit card and told me I could pay him when I had the money. He then installed them for me (after he went out a bought a screw driver set to use to remove and reinstall by hard drives) and then he stood by and talked me through getting my computer back up and running. I can’t thank either one of you guys enough. If was your mention of backing up your system that prompted me to do the same, and it wasn’t two weeks later that my hard drives decided they weren’t gonna work anymore, so I owe you big time for just mentioning the importance of backing my computer. So THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU DB and BFF‘s husband for keeping me up and running! Geek Squad charges an arm and a leg to make house calls, and the local computer store was going to charge me $165.00 just to tell me which one of my hard drives died. I replaced both of them for less that $165. People just don’t realize they money they are saving by having a friend do computer repairs, you need to let them take their computers in for repairs so they can readjust their thinking and reimbursement gift ideas.

    I removed one of your duplicated replies. Damn, here I go again helping people. I must be due for a trip to Arizona again. Do your supermarkets have a good fruit cake? You don’t owe me anything and giving you a few clues by email is no effort and I know it’s appreciated.

  7. July 3, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I don’t/can’t remember if I thanked you when I ran my sound board problem past you. (The really good drugs the docs give me tend to make me forget things). If I didn’t, please consider this a very public apology and a very gracious “Mahalo.”

    Of course you did and not one of my bloggers was the target of my pique. I don’t expect a fruit cake from California or Arizona for just some advice by email. Then again, some of those forget things drugs could be useful at times. 😀

  8. Mary
    July 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I must remember you like a good fruit cake as my fruit cakes are known for. Thank you Reg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

