Home > Local News > Nostalgia

Nostalgia

Sorry for the hiatus but we’ve been busy in the garden with retaining walls, paths, lawns and veggies etc.  Looking good if I don’t mind saying so. 

Also managed to get a 60k bike ride in and that was most enjoyable except for the ruts and loose gravel on the downhill section of the Rail Trail battered by the rains last week.  Tends to give the old ticker a flutter when you hit loose gravel at speed.

MP is heading west to stay with her sister for a week and I’ve been given a list of chores a mile long.  Tongue-in-cheek she reckons.  MPS’s partner is away on a course and she needs company in the big mansion.  MP is taking the car and leaving me with my trusty bike to get around but she’s a bit worried about where she is going to park when she visits her sister.  Maybe here or even here I suggested. 

I’ve just discovered Google’s News Archive site where they have digitised newspapers from around the world going back eons.  I searched our local broadsheet, The Age, and discovered this is what happened in Melbourne the day I was born. 

Tram strikes and train fares going up.  Nothing has changed.

I love the ads………………………..

Top brekkie tuckerNescafeThe Biro1948 ipod

Weetbix is my favourite brekkie cereal and it’s still around. I even have a rare special edition retro Weet-Bix tin.  So is Nescafe coffee and the price quoted (we were pounds, shillings and pence then) is the equilevant to $1.90 for a 500 gram tin which is around $23 now when it’s not on special (about $14). 

And how about the indispensible biro.  I thought they didn’t emerged until the 1950’s but here we have one on sale for 8 shillings and 9 pence.  That’s 88 cents which would have been expensive in those days.  The nuns only let us use pens we dipped in an ink well and 8 shillings and 9 pence would have been a whole year’s budget for the catholic school I attended.

All us oldies would remember the big radios with the glass valves we sat around and listened to the serials.  Nowadays you’d have trouble getting that in your top pocket with a set of white ear plugs attached. 

As they say, chatting endlessly about nostalgia is the first signs so I’d better go and wipe my dribble and eat my strained prunes.

  1. june in florida
    March 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Very nice mansion. Nothing notable happened on my birthday except a lot of people died, I was heading the other way that day.Have a good visit MP, we’ll watch him.

    Were you born during WW2?

  2. AZ
    March 16, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Yesterday I came, I read, and then I wandered off for a many hours looking for stuff on “Google News Archive.” You are your own worst enemy when it comes to comments because of the interesting links you put up 🙂 . MPS’s house is gorgeous! Does Mr. MPS collect cars?

    You can spend hours wandering memory lane with those newspapers. MPS and partner meet on our last Nepal trip and he moved down from Brisbane and he bought that house only a few months ago and it came with a 6 car garage. It even has a pit for working under cars so the previous owner must have been a collector. They park their cars in the smaller garage attached to the house and the four car one is gradually getting filled with canoes, exercise stuff etc etc and will fill given time. A slideshow HERE of a trip we did there recently.

    • AZ
      March 16, 2010 at 9:59 am

      OH MY GOD! What a beautiful yard and home. It’s a good thing that Mr. and Mrs. MPS are in good form for all that yard work. Is that sweet alyssum (smells like honey) growing in the beds of the front yard?

      Sorry, I put the link on the wrong word but I guess you found it. The garden was well established so they just have to keep it maintained. No idea about the plant.

      • AZ
        March 16, 2010 at 10:07 am

        HEY! You got rid of the correct your typo thingie :0( !

        No I haven’t. It’s still there on mine. Don’t hit me with more problems! I had my computer go belly up yesterday and spent the day fixing it. The typo thingie wouldn’t have been affected and I just tested it with an empty cache and logged off and it worked. My sister did one yesterday and it was ok.

  3. june in florida
    March 17, 2010 at 5:19 am

    1938

    A baby pre-boomer! I checked our paper for 1938 and came up with THIS showing at the flicks. Maureen O’Sullivan lived for another 60 years and made her last film in 1987. Died in Scottsdale, AZ and buried in New York.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

