Home > Misc > Super Tuesday

Super Tuesday

Our Super Tuesday bike count went off without a hitch.  Well you could hardly have a hitch when I only had to count 16 and MP had 7. 

I was on a well established bike track on the Barwon River in Geelong and the 7am to 9am count was geared towards commuter riders but it took 30 minutes to get my first customer.  This was my second customer.  It was 9:02am and I was packing up and along came 7 more bikes so I suspect a count from 9am onwards would have gathered far more recreational cyclists.

I would have loved to have seen the guy at work on the corner of Flinders and Swanston Streets in the Melbourne CBD.  1795 riders in two hours!   His counting sheet would caught fire!  I presume they would have had to have four counters for an intersection like that.  A bike track similar to mine along the Yarra river in Melbourne scored 1407 cyclists and here was MP and I sending one another bored text messages.

Anyway, hopefully a useful exercise and we scored a nice tee shirt and we ploughed our $100 back into the bicycle network.

  1. june in florida
    March 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Sorry i forgot to tell you to bring a book to read.I think your 2nd customer dropped his bike in the drink.

    I did take a book but you had to keep glancing up.

  2. Mary
    March 3, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Maybe they should have a dog counting day. You probably would get 1407 dogs along the Barwon River whilst the person on Flinders Street get 0 (alive).

    Hardly a dog but lots of people doing boot camp and exercise stuff. A lot of runners too and mostly all female.

  3. March 3, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    And you drove your car to the assigned spot? Where’s the old team spirit?

    I wasn’t riding 30k there in the dark as I don’t have lights for the bike.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

