Home > Misc > The Weather

The Weather

February 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

So what were we up to today?  Anyone with an eagle eye could tell me the the country pedigree of my mountain bike, or even better, the brand name.  Certainly one of my regular readers from the northern climes shouldn’t have any problem.

Contrary to my recent rants about my Catholic education, I did have a couple of good teachers and one Brother in particular taught me to really appreciate geography, maths and English.  My love of travel originated from my appreciation of geography and another interest was studying the weather.  The weather dictates our lives and knowing whether your tootsies will get wet or you might get sunburnt on Wednesday is important.

Our nearest Meteorological Weather Station is 18k away at Geelong airport and I have always relied on that for my daily weather fix.  I was going to buy a Davis Vantage Pro weather station to hook up to my computer so that I would have more accurate information.  You can then register your weather station with Weather Underground and there are thousands of unofficial but very accurate weather stations around the world.  This link overlays all the weather stations on Google maps and you may need to pan in to see the temperature appear to show you a station.  If you click on the temperature it will take you to the full statistics page for that weather station and you can modify the map settings and set the page to the nearest weather station in your area. Hence, I have a weather station setup for all my regular readers and it’s nice knowing they are freezing their butts off while I’m out having a swim.

Lo and behold, the Ocean Grove Fire Brigade recently setup a Vantage Pro on the top of the fire station which is only 2k away and has been recording since mid January. Hence, I’ll be using that one, and on the right sidebar of this blog you will see the weather stats link for OG and you can click on that for the full history details.  Below that are three links and one is for the beach web cam so it’s most important knowing if one can run along the beach at low tide or whether it’s worth taking the boogie board for the swim afterwards.

Now we just need someone to clean those windows.

  1. February 15, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Hey, thanks for that weather station info. The one that I have the thermometer on my blog linked to bears no relationship to what’s happening hereabouts. Using that map, I found a station located in West Lakes that ought to be much more accurate.

    Now, I just have to figure out how to modify my web-blog code to incorporate that new weather station identifier. Which, once I see the code, ought to be easy-peesy, says he.

  2. February 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Well, that proved to be a disaster. The new code is “ISOUTHAU14” which replaced “94672”, but it didn’t work.

    Oh well, that’s life. I’ve changed the code back to what it was.

    It’s simple in WordPress but I’m not sure how you do it in Blogger. Click on the widget for West Lakes below and click on “Add PWS stickers to your site” on the right and copy the metric code and then replace the text code in your existing widget with the new code. Let me know if you get stuck and I’ll create a Blogger blog and have a look.

  3. Thomas Houseman
    February 16, 2010 at 5:47 am

    Yup, thanks for that link, found one a few KM’s away. 🙂

    Were you trying to put this link in?

    • Thomas Houseman
      February 16, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      Why yes I was!

  4. june in florida
    February 16, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Canada,Rocky Mountain brand?Working on the weather thing.

    Correct and very close with the brand. Google could help. I already have you bookmarked at this site.

  5. February 16, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Mum’s husband is a retired meteorologist who locks himself in his office all day and charts the weather.

    “That’s all fine” I say, “but did you go outside today? It’s really nice out.”

    I hope we all were wearing a helmet on that ride. I said “weeeeeeeeee” on the steep bits like I always do.

    Scott- I’m not as bad as that. Beautiful day today and got out and about in the lovely sun gathering more of those skin nasties.

    It’s the law to wear bicycle helmets here and you’d be a nong to go without one anyway especially on downhill sections with one hand on the camera.

  6. june in florida
    February 16, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    Thank you.

  7. AZ
    February 16, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    If you pedal your way through the Chinese countryside that fast you will miss most of the scenery, and you’ll probably leave a trail of Chinese bodies and bicycles in your wake. I checked out my weather and also got to see what our elevation is, significant other asked me the other day what our elevation was and my answer was “I don’t know,” but now I know because the weather link also gives elevations.

    That wasn’t fast. It was around 20 kph but if I wasn’t holding the camera, I would have been doing twice that speed as it was a long downhill section.

    This is the nearest weather station to you. Nice chilly nights I see.

  8. February 17, 2010 at 2:33 am

    Me I just look out the window and saved Can$600.
    Besides, the weather station is just a 7 minute walk from home, and we must be one of the worlds most weather watching peoples.

    Not a is it Raleigh is it?

    I saved myself that too.

    A Norco.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

