Home > Work > Workers of the World

Workers of the World

February 10, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

On Tuesday, we decided on an easy rest day after our toil in the garden of late so it was out for a run where we finished at the beach for a swim in water that must be around 30c at the moment.  We had it all to ourselves and what are the workers of the world doing today?  Who cares!

I was sitting down to a leisurely lunch at 12:30pm and by 1:10pm I was over in Pt Lonsdale reading meters.  I got the panic phone call to do three rounds, but firstly, another MR wasn’t going to finish a final day round so it was over to help him.   It was easier to take the PDE and tear around at a furious pace while he leap frogged ahead grabbing readings on a notepad and we managed to finish with 5 minutes to spare. Don’t worry, that cost them a lot of money.

I did a round today and the humidity was stifling and I was drowning in my own sweat in the end.  You may ask why I still do the odd bit of meter reading.  Nothing beats power walking for 8 hours in tropical like weather to help lose a kilo or two, the “panic” money is good, and it gets me away from retaining walls and laying crushed concrete.  Temporarily. 

Now, what was that about the workers of the world?  Oops!

  1. February 10, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Yes, our humidity has been awful, so if yours was anything like we’ve been experiencing, I empathise with your discomfort. Still being active keeps one out of trouble I suppose. Especially when it puts a dime in your pocket.

    Today was just as bad and quite unusual for us. The rain has just started and things are feeling a lot better.

  2. Mary
    February 11, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Today, I was walking my dogs in the park in Belmont when an anxious young man approached me to tell me he had lost his kelpie. How? Well as it happens one of the dogbaits of Geelong left his front gate open after visiting? Although feeling compassionate for his loss, I could not help but think of you and the times dogs have rushed you and almost made bait of you, so I also had compassion for the poor meter reader.

    Guess where I worked today! From the location you told me, I suspect it was another MR reading the round behind me.

  3. MM
    February 11, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    The water is fantastic at the moment isn’t it!

    Make the most of it. Come March it cools pretty quickly.

  4. February 12, 2010 at 3:56 am

    I wish I got paid to power walk!!

    Not like my mate on Tuesday who gets paid to power dawdle. He doesn’t get paid much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

