Home > Work > Spooky

Spooky

January 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m not sure I ever mentioned how I bailed out of my 9 to 5 job at BIT in 1999.  The electricity industry was being broken up and sold off to private retailers with the promise that it would make electricity cheaper.  Nope.

My section was sold off to a Melbourne mob but I was offered a job locally by another manager that turned out to be a dud within a few days so I was ready for retirement at 51.  I applied for a severance package on the Monday and was gone by the Friday.  Funnily, I had no emotions or nostalgia about leaving the place having worked there on and off since 1966 (had a 10 year break). 

I wasn’t interested in an official send-off so I took all my workmates out for lunch and shot through on the Friday.  They kindly did a whip around and gave me a nice signed card and this beautiful Seiko travel alarm clock which I’ve found to be invaluable over the years.  Spooky clock It kept very accurate time until about a year ago when it stopped (yes, I did replace the battery) so I took it to the only watchmaker in Geelong who wasn’t interested/too lazy to repair it.

So I stuck it away in an ice cream container with a lot of other computer junk and forgot about it until four days ago.  At 5am in the morning, I hear this loud shrill beeping coming from somewhere in the house so I crawled out of bed and had to snoop around everywhere until I found the clock merrily announcing that it was awake again and so should everyone else.

I checked that clock a couple of times over the last year and it was as dead as a Dodo and suddenly it comes to life again and has been working flawlessly since.

I tried to convince MM recently that our house had ghosts.  Jeez, I’m starting to believe my own BS! 

  1. june in florida
    January 27, 2010 at 12:34 am

    It also went into semi-retirement and has decided it’s not for everyone.Get traveling, it’s a travel alarm clock.

    That big heading at the top of the page is why we’re not travelling at the moment.

  2. AZ
    January 27, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I know of a clock that would only work for one woman. She was an antique dealer in Tombstone, AZ, and every time she sold the old mantle clock it would stop working, when the people who bought it brought it back it would immediately start working again. Clocks, they have a mind of their own.

    Been to Tombstone. If I’d known that, I would have tested it out. Plenty of ghosts there I imagine.

  3. January 27, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    This story is a nice departure from the clock-stopped-when-he died story. 🙂

    It was the same day I finally got off my bum and spent 3 days repairing our collapsing retaining wall to the front door. Maybe the clock thought I rose from the dead!

  4. January 28, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Well, I for one, am alarmed…

    That joke rings a bell.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

