Home > Home Front > Global Cooling

Global Cooling

January 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Damn, this is a strange country.  A week ago we were frying in 45c and I get up this morning to this and it’s absolutely freezing.  I know you northerners will laugh but it’s relative.  That’s bloody cold to us!Crazy weather

It got down to 14c last night and I was rugged up with a fleece jacket and the tracky dacks hence 9c had me looking for the thermals and a polar bear to kill.

Forget that 20c they forecast as it wobbled up to 17 and plunged down to 12 while I was at the supermarket and down came the rain while I’m dashing to the car dressed in my summer rain gear of shorts and tee shirt.  In fact, my rain gauge had 19mm in it today and the weather station 800 metres away at the Ocean Grove Fire Station only recorded 1.2mm.  Something odd going on here considering it pounded rain half the night.

Oh, well, probably back to the smell of burning human flesh next week.  You just can’t keep some people happy.  

  1. January 18, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    I reckon the burning human flesh will come sooner than next week. Our beloved weather-fellers are predicting 35-degrees for this coming Thursday.

    Our forecast for Thursday is only 29c and that’s the highest for the next 7 days.

  2. January 19, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I’d be happy with 8.8C right now, but I can’t really complain as we have had mild temps all week hovering around the 0C mark during the day and a little colder at night…. that’s positively warm for January in this part of Canada.
    Now if only it would stay like that for the rest of the winter.

    Gee, if it got down to 0c I think my bones would go brittle. I experienced -15c in the Everest region of Nepal and that hurt even with all the polar bear clobber on.

  3. January 19, 2010 at 3:50 am

    Just blame the cold on “Antartica” and we’ll all just nod and say, “Ohh. Yes. Antartica!”

    If I did that, I’d have to blame my English teacher. 🙂

  4. june in florida
    January 19, 2010 at 10:53 am

    i am not laughing i understand, 9 degrees up north and i would be outside in a t-shirt and a sweatshirt and was fine. Now 55 degrees and i have the winter coat from up north(the one i never wore)and i am freezing my butt off.We seem to be warming up,predicting upper 70s all week after temps in the 20s.

    55f is 12c so I know what you mean.

  5. Muscat55
    January 19, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    We spent last night under our Winter doona, 8’C overnight, but Thursday is going to be 38’C and Friday we are expecting 40’C! Today I’m sitting with a jumper on! Global what?

    Thursday and Friday are going to be 29 and 27 for us so I think a sea breeze might be a factor.

  6. AZ
    January 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    We were chilly today with overcast skies and on and off sprinkles. Snow is predicted for the high country and more rain in the Valley for the remainder of the week. I welcome the rain and hope we get a deluge.

    Sounds similar to us. The Bureau of Meteorology has issued their forcast for January to April and have predicted cooler, below average temperatures so that’s fine by me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

