Home > Rants > Slow Learner

Slow Learner

January 17, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

A good friend came and stayed for the weekend.  She brought goodies including some chocolates and nougat. 

When we were in Nepal in 2008, I pulled out a tooth filling chewing some nougat and I swore I’d never eat another one. 

When I told MP she said, “Goody, I can finish yours”

She nearly got the lot today as I took a tumble on the roof of the house and nearly fell off.

Damn this getting old.  I’m coming apart at the seams.

  1. January 17, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    If you’re going to do risky things like going on the roof, you might as well throw caution to the wind in all things and go ahead and eat the nougat! I’m glad you didn’t fall OFF the roof. That is rotten at any age!

    I just bought myself a high pressure hose to flush the gutters (they have steel mesh screwed on to stop leaves) and was having fun with that. Too much water on a Colourbond roof and it’s gets very slippery.

  2. January 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Long ago I swore off popcorn because every time I had some, I ended up breaking a tooth. That too, comes with age, we’re one day older each and every day.

    Take care my friend, angels have wings but I’m told that harps are hard to learn how to play.

    I hate popcorn so safe there. I’ll probably have to learn how to use a pitch fork. 😀

  3. January 18, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Uh, hang in there DB. 😉

    I was! My finger nails have the proof.

  4. January 18, 2010 at 3:14 am

    Holy Tumbling Old Fart, Batman!!

    Falling off the roof and on to your nougat knocking out a filling?

    Is that right?

    Damn these old eyes…

    If that had happened, I think I’d have a lot more loose teeth to worry about.

  5. January 18, 2010 at 5:09 am

    Next time try to persuade MP go up on the roof instead. Perhaps you could use your stash of nougat as a bribe?
    Must be an epidemic…. OlderSon just fell off a ladder (but not the roof…. he was hanging a picture) and wrecked his foot and ankle and had to spend all last week on the sofa!

    I fell through a ladder once. Leg went through the rung and 15 years later I still have the scars.

  6. june in florida
    January 18, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Damn Db will you take care. If your going to do that you better get your wings early. My son Chris gave up roofing and now does siding, too many close calls, lightning etc.

    I agree, roofs are a dangerous place to be. All new houses being built these days have scaffolding by law.

  7. Laura
    January 18, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Well i bet you didn’t need to go for a run that day, i’m sure your heart would have been racing like you’d just done a 10km run!

    It sort of got the adrenalin pumping.

  8. Muscat55
    January 19, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Do take care DB or you mightn’t make it to Australia Day, where we celebrate the First fleet of convict ships arriving in Port Jackson and deciding that the people already here did not own the land, but George lll of England did! ( I wish they would choose another date or reason to celebrate)

    It’s Muppet’s Mum’s birthday and she is always under the illusion that the whole country is celebrating for her!

  9. AZ
    January 20, 2010 at 7:52 am

    How did I miss this post! I was told by my dentist that popcorn was terrible for your teeth, not breaking a tooth chomping down on a hard kernel, but the hulls off the kernel working their way below the gum line and causing all manner of problems. Significant other fell off a roof and was off work for a year, he does not recommend it. Significant other also drove into a abandoned disabled vehicle on the freeway going 55 mph, he also does not recommend that. The last time I broke a tooth I bit into a Subway sandwich, I still eat sandwiches 🙂 !

    You could miss a post if I do a couple quickly. Using a Feed reader like Feeddemon which is free and easy to install helps you keep track of the blogs you read.

    SO is lucky to still be around! Did an airbag save him in the crash?

    • AZ
      January 20, 2010 at 9:54 am

      We don’t know what saved him in the crash, we’re guessing: (1) his mother watching over him from heaven, (2) the airbag, (3) the weight difference between the car he hit and his truck, and (4) sheer freakin’ luck. Within days of his accident several other people died in very similar accidents.

      • AZ
        January 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

        I forgot! You sent me Feeddemon in an email — I used it, and have all my favorite blogs on “feeds,” but every once in a while I notice a new entry with no notice on my “feeds.” Why?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

