Home > Humour > HOLIDAYS HAVE FINISHED!

HOLIDAYS HAVE FINISHED!

  1. june in florida
    January 1, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Weird, so Christmas is in the middle of your summer hols.

    Err, yes. I could say it’s weird NOT having Christmas in the middle of the summer holidays. It’s natural to us.

  2. Muppet's Mum
    January 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Muppet starts on 2nd Feb, 9:15 am

    We didn’t know there was a staggered start.

  3. January 2, 2010 at 5:11 am

    OMG! – Muppet is that old, isn’t she? Intellectually I knew that but emotionally it doesn’t seem possible. Please give her a big Hug’n’Kiss for me and a hearty “Congrats” to Mom & Dad. 🙂

    Coming up 6 in July!

  4. AZ
    January 2, 2010 at 6:30 am

    What’s “Pinging?” Muppet going to school, where has time gone?

    Pinging is where someone links to your blog and it lets you know. When you do a comment, I receive an email so that’s pinging. What prompted that?

    • AZ
      January 3, 2010 at 6:29 am

      On this page a little ways from the top it says “Pinging is currently not allowed.” I just wondered what “[p]inging” was. You know me I look at everything no matter how minuscule and then obsess over it until I find out what it means. 🙂

      PING PING PING PING!! I’m pinging, even it isn’t allowed, because I’m weird that way.

      AZ – I’ve allowed it now so you’ll see it now says you can trackback from your own site. Way you go!

  5. January 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    The children go back to school here on Monday 4th after 2 weeks off over Christmas and New Year. When I was working, I always saved up enough days so i could have the same 2 weeks off…. I really needed that break. And even if it;s cold and snowy outside (like it is today) it was so relaxing just to stay home with my sons and do indoor stuff, read books, watch movies, bake cookies etc.

    A lot of parents have to do that. I see a lot of grandparents looking after the little ones during holidays when I’m out meter reading. How did you get on looking after the kids during the summer break?

    • January 4, 2010 at 2:15 am

      There are lots of summer day camps during the summer break… sports camps, drama camps, art camps etc. And when my younger son was nine, he started to go away for a couple of weeks every summer to a summer residential camp north of here. He loved it, and when he got old enough, he became a counsellor and spent the whole summer at camp. He even took the dog with him!

      They don’t have summer camps here that I’m aware of.

  6. John Quelch
    January 5, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    I believe Muppet’s surrogate grandfather is having a birthday on January 6th. Happy Birthday to him! (He hates birthdays)

    Thanks!

  7. January 5, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY my friend!

    Thanks. Birthdays are like Christmas. I try and forget them.

    • January 6, 2010 at 8:49 am

      True, DB but when you consider the alternative, B’Days aren’t half bad. 🙂 😉

      You’re right. While you have them there is still hope. As Spike Milligan once said, he checks the obituaries every day and if he’s not there, he gets out and enjoys the day.

  8. june in florida
    January 6, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Hb, guess it’s all over now.

    No, still the day.

  9. January 6, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Happy Birthday Reg!! It’s The Man of The Place’s birthday today as well. Epiphany babies!

    Peggy – Thanks. I knew MOTP had a birthday the same day from comments last year but I try to do mine quietly but my brother seems to have let the cat out of the bag.

  10. Thomas Houseman
    January 7, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    My son went off to daycare this week. Apparently the terrible 2’s have already started at only 14 months with two whopper tantrums… sheesh!

    The “terrible 2’s” seem to be just a figure of speech. I’m led to believe they can occur anytime from 0 to, well you pick a number

  11. January 8, 2010 at 3:32 am

    My, you certainly have quite a few comments here…

    What’s your secret?

    I don’t have any. Nought, nil, zilch, zero, not a skerrick etc

  12. The Librarian
    January 8, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Can’t resist commenting on your no-text posting. I hope you have recovered from dancing the night away on your birthday 😉

    “Dance the night away”. Yeah, right!

  13. January 9, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Don’t really have anything to say. Just want to keep building on the comment count. 😉

    Fantastic! Keep them rolling. Going for a record!

  14. june in florida
    January 11, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Ditto, but zucchinis not doing bad.

    Well, we have passed a Dogbait record.

  15. January 12, 2010 at 6:49 am

    Just catching up with the news as I haven’t been here for a few days. I see nothing has happened.

    The author has gone to a lot of trouble to provide material of substance for this blog post. Obviously it has raised a lot of interest and intellectual discussion on such a serious subject. 😀

  16. june in florida
    January 12, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Everyone come to Florida, we need more body heat.

    You can have all of ours!

    • January 12, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      How deep into your closet did you have to dig to find clothing warm enough?

      Things are crook in Tallarook.

  17. January 12, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Didn’t get an answer in the “Quack Quack” post so I’ll ask it here:

    Hey, Scott. Did you feel the quake?

  18. june in florida
    January 13, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Very deep and i am running out.

  19. January 13, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    OK, I’ll make it 23 comments to help you out — no zucchinis here, and let’s keep it that way.

    Good man. World record! Well, for Dogbait anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

