Home > Work > You Can’t Park there!

You Can’t Park there!

December 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m back into the meter reading caper for two weeks.  I was asked to do the major accounts which is a cushy job driving around in an air-con car all day, or more to the point, playing dodgems with the tourists.

Then I get the desperate call asking if I’d mind doing three walk rounds in Barwon Heads and Ocean Grove this week before I tackle cushy.  No worries, as we euphemistically say here.  Since I can only work a short day on Thursday, it was put in big today. 

It’s been 2½ years since I did an 8 hour round, and damn, do I know it!  After 8½ hours of power walking with just two 10 minute breaks, I’m utterly stuffed. I keep reasonably fit in retirement but the only training for meter reading is meter reading.

I had to contend with sweat, flies, mozzies, dogs, and the hell of all, hordes of rubbernecks aimlessly wandering the streets as I had to negotiate the shopping precinct.  One perverse pleasure I get from doing the shops during the holidays is that a lot of the RN’s think I’m the local laws cop with my uniform and I have people coming up to me asking what the time limit is here or if it’s okay to park their car over there.  You should see the looks I get when I say, “Park there forever if you want” or “I’m just about to book everyone in the street” or something similar.

The frightening thing is that I have to do that all over again tomorrow, and althought it was only 25c today, tomorrow it’s going up to 34c.  I might just have to whack on the budgie smugglers under the shorts and hit the briny during the round to cool off.

If you hear of hordes of RN’s going into cardiac arrest, you’ll know the budgie smugglers made an appearance.

More tomorrow if I’m still alive.

  1. june in florida
    December 30, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Just think of the lovely loot they are paying you and you don’t have to do it if you don’t want to. That’s the best part, only work when you feel like it.

    June – Correct.

  2. December 30, 2009 at 2:34 am

    That’s a lot of footage…

    Explain the budgie smuggling reference please…

    I’m usually good, but apparently not that good at working out slang.

    You’ve got birds stuffed in your shorts?

    Scott – I thought your stint in Oz would have been more beneficial to your edukashion about things like budgie smugglers. This is an extreme example.

  3. Muppet's Mum
    December 30, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    It sure was a scorcher today, hope you managed to get some relief at the beach!

    No relief. Another 8 hour day.

  4. December 30, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Here’s wishing “Mr Grinch” belated Christmas Greetings. Plus, all the best for the upcoming new year, along with the fervent hope that you’ll continue to provide us with many more of your very interesting journalistic efforts during the new year. Happy camping.

    Randy – “HAPPY CAMPING”?? Wash your mouth out! Mr Grinch wouldn’t be caught camping with that mass of humanity.

    Seasons Greeting to you too my friend. Thanks for your vote of confidence in my “journalistic efforts”. My 800th post coming up so I’d better find something earth shattering to report on.

  5. AZ
    December 30, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    I remember budgie smugglers from a previous post, it was the mozzies that I had to look up. Why don’t you call ’em skeeters like the rest us!

    The only thing that hasn’t been Americanised and you want to take that away from us too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

