Home > Work > Money for Old Rope

Money for Old Rope

December 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

My second day of secondment had me meter reading along my favourite round, The Esplande between St Leonards and Indented Head.   What a contrast from the previous day when it thumped rain and now I started with a beautiful cool morning, and by the time the sun started beating down, I was finished. 

This photo was taken from the same spot last year and you can see the skyline of Melbourne in the background. 253660750_eF62J-X3-1[1] Since you mainly read one side of the road only (the Bay is on the other) it requires a 3k walk to the starting point but we’re here for the exercise, so who cares. 

Actually, I’m here for more than exercise.  The government has just deposited $1500 into my account just for doing a bit of work the last financial year.  Generous, eh!  If I earn about $2500 in wages for the year and put $1000 into my Superannuation account, they give me the freebie.  I have two Super accounts so I just transfer the money from one to another.  I haven’t had much work from July and may pick up a couple of weeks over the Christmas/New Year doing the major accounts and if I scrounge up another weeks work before June, it should see me across the line.

So there you are.  Exercise and greed.

  1. june in florida
    December 11, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I think i went the wrong direction when i left England, your gov treats you quite well.

    June – If you lived a few years earlier and transgressed (not necessarily in a Tigers fashion), you would have had no option but come here.

  2. AZ
    December 11, 2009 at 7:28 am

    The government gives you money? What a concept!

    We don’t pay taxes, all medical and utilities are free and food and petrol prices are set at 1970 levels. Surely you have that too!

  3. june in florida
    December 11, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Well that beats being drawn and quartered, ref back to earlier post.

  4. The Librarian
    December 12, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    That’s a great photo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

