Home > Muppet's Mum > Eureka Towers – Conquered!

Eureka Towers – Conquered!

November 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hello there Dogbait fans. Muppet’s Mum here again, taking over the blog to report back on my Eureka Towers climb. I would have posted the results sooner except that Muppet and her Kindergarten friends, being good and sharing children, gave us Gastro this week so we’ve been out of action for a few days. Lucky it was this week and not last week, I say!

Last Sunday was a rather bleak, wet Melbourne day (some would say typical Melbourne weather except for the fact that any type of rainfall these days is highly unusual, as you would no doubt be aware from many of Dogbait’s previous posts on this subject!).  The top of the Eureka Towers was shrouded in CLOUDS. My goodness, we couldn’t even see where we were going to end up (that might have been a good thing).

Attempting the climb were myself, my climbing partner Roz and her sister Sonya, who had flown in from New York the day before with her 7 month old daughter.  Roz and I decided to dress for the event – she as a bumble bee (the Eureka Towers is decorated with 24 carat gold bumble bees) and me as, well nothing in particular, just lots of colour and sequins, and arrows on my head, just in case I forgot which way to go.

All the hard work and training we put in paid off, with us completing the climb – 1958 stairs, 89 floors and 300m vertical elevation – in 20mins 30sec. Not bad for a first effort, and considering that we stopped along the way to take photos! And because I raised more than $500 for the event’s charity partners – Interplast and White Lion – I had the privilege of climbing yet more stairs – to the ROOF – for an official photograph. I now feature on their website! Here are some of the photos from an awesome day:

[smugmug url=”http://dogbait.smugmug.com/hack/feed.mg?Type=gallery&Data=10366862_LnsEt&format=rss200″ imagecount=”11″ start=”1″ num=”11″ thumbsize=”Th” link=”image” captions=”true” sort=”false” window=”false” smugmug=”false” size=”O”]

  1. Laura
    November 28, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Great job Muppet’s Mum!!!
    I cringe just thinking about that many stairs let alone thinking about actually climbing them.
    You don’t even look puffed at the top 🙂

    Thanks Laura. It’s actually easier than it sounds. We weren’t very puffed at the top, all our training prepared us well!

  2. November 29, 2009 at 5:53 am

    woot!

    We said something a little stronger than that at the finish line 🙂

  3. The Librarian
    November 29, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Sensational effort MM. I can’t believe you did it in just over 20 mins, I’m very impressed. Not to mention going out onto the roof to pose for that photo… eeeek that’s a long way down!

    Thanks! The winner did it in just over 8min, so we’ve got a long way to go to get anywhere near that time! Fortunately we were able to catch the elevator down from the 88th floor.

  4. dogbait
    November 29, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Great effort, MM.

    Thanks DB. Back to you now. I’m sure you have much more interesting stuff to say!

  5. November 30, 2009 at 2:09 am

    WAHOO! Way to go, Muppet’s Mum! Great effort, I can’t imagine how someone can do that climb in 8 mins, must have sprouted wings halfway up I reckon. I’d love to try doing something like that one day, but I’d have to start out smnall…. no CN Tower or Eureka Tower for me until I did quite a bit of training!

  6. june in florida
    November 30, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Good going MM, cant believe the winner did it in 8 min.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

