Home > Misc > Situations Not Vacant

Situations Not Vacant

November 26, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

We were corralled into the jury room for two hours this morning before proceedings began and then summoned into Court and being told by a Rumpole look-alike what verdict to say on thirteen charges and so a two week trial was over in 30 minutes.

Here I was telling Thomas this morning he had all the luck with a 4 week trial coming to a grinding halt on the first day and there was no way it would happen to us and lo and behold!

I’m sworn to the death penalty on discussing the case but this is a clue; the six potential jurors challenged were all women.  It didn’t help him much because five got on anyway.

As they say in the army, “As you were”

An interesting experience.

  1. Muppet's Mum
    November 26, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I guess I wasn’t quick enough to take up position of Blog Master. I will post my stair climb & photos entry after Muppet and I have recovered from this bout of gastro …

    MM – Whenever.

  2. November 27, 2009 at 2:14 am

    Interesting procedure.
    I was called to jury duty only once in the 40 years I’ve lived in Canada. I had already booked a trip, so I had to fax them a copy of my plane ticket to prove that I had legit reason for not showing up. Otherwise there’s a hefty fine.
    Darn it…. now I’ve mentioned it, I’ll probably get a letter next week saying it’s my turn again…..

    shammy – Evidence came to light just that morning that burst the bubble of the defence. He changed his plea to guilty on some of the lesser charges and we were directed to find him not guilty on the others.

  3. Thomas Houseman
    November 27, 2009 at 5:19 am

    Hehehe 🙂

    That’s what I was saying too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

