Home > Work > Remember Me?

Remember Me?

November 20, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

If I could just get a word in edgeways here………..

Thanks to Muppet’s Mum for her guest appearance.  We wish her well for the big climb and look forward to another post with plenty of photos of the event.  Just a word of advice, stay around for the presentations!

I did note that she got 8 comments to my 4 from the previous post!  I’d better not call for a vote on who’s to run this show.  Anyway, it’s called Dogbait’s Babble which was originally designed to report on my meter reading exploits and all is not lost as I did some this week.  Old soldiers never die….

I got the desperate phone call earlier this week asking if I’d do two rounds in Pt Lonsdale and Queenscliff to help ease the pressure.  No problems as it’s one of my favourite areas, and as it was forecast to be hot, a nice breeze off Swan Bay would make it a bit easier.  However, nothing to report, no people, dogs, kids and it all went smoothly and I got most of it done on one day and a couple of hours the next day to finish before the forecast 37c hit.  They are just starting to install the new smart meters around the State so meter readers will go the way of the Dodo soon.

I do have an ulterior motive to doing some meter reading, because if I can earn about $2500 a year in wages, the government will pay me $1500 into my superannuation fund if I contribute a $1000.  I have two super funds so I just transfer $1000 from one to another, and bingo, I get the freebie.

Have you ever gone out to buy something expecting to pay $400 and it only costs $32?  It’s been a good week!

I’ll tell you that one tomorrow (If I’m allowed!) 😀

  1. November 21, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Meter Readers here went the way of the Dodo a while ago. Now there are just people who drive around in trucks picking up the signal.

    They won’t even do that here. Someone in an office will just take the readings.

  2. AZ
    November 21, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Okay, you want comments, I’ll comment… crap, I got nuttin’ to say! Oh, oh, I remember something! Significant other took his truck in because it was making a funny noise, it cost him $299.00 to find out there was nothing the matter with it. How’s that for crappy luck?

    That seems steep. Unless they stripped the engine down.

    • AZ
      November 21, 2009 at 6:34 pm

      It was the transmission.

      There was a noise coming from the transmission and they said nothing was wrong. Methinks he’ll have gear cogs all over the place soon. Then again, I am known for my pessimistic outlook at times. 😀

  3. june in florida
    November 21, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Welcome back, You wuz missed. Nice to have MM though

    June – Don’t give her a big head.

  4. November 22, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Locally, meter reading is done via cell phone. This year all meters were upgraded to have a dedicated cell connection and the meter is read via computer link.

    A real cost saver! 50+ MRs eliminated from the payroll. As a side note: their IT dept. did hire 75 (or so) new techs to make sure there would be no problems. LOL

    PD – I remember the outcry when computers first came in and all the jobs that would be lost. In fact, the IT industry boomed and new jobs were born like consultancies!

  5. November 22, 2009 at 6:43 am

    I’ve had a smart meter installed a couple of years ago but the system isn’t up and running yet.

    shammy – I suspect the same will happen here. The meters will go in and there will be all sorts of problems.

    • November 22, 2009 at 8:21 am

      I don’t think there are problems (YET!) but the system isn’t scheduled to be active until 2010 or 2011, it is being phased in gradually.
      And then we will have to get up in the middle of the night to do the laundry as the power will be cheaper at that time.

      shammy – Friends of ours in England used to run the dryer at night to save money and it nearly burnt their house down.

  6. Muppets Mum
    November 22, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I’m not going to leave you a comment because that means you’ll get more comments than me. Oh bugger, too late!

    MM – When you edited the comment, you were supposed to hit delete!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

