Home > Home Front > Near Enough

Near Enough

November 2, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I was in the supermarket yesterday and asked for “about 300 grams” of shaved ham from the deli.  The young guy grabbed a finger full which I knew was going to be woefully short of the mark and sure enough it came to 120 grams on the scale.

He then said, “Is that close enough?”  He wasn’t kidding either.

“Mmm, let me have a good think here”, I said.  “How about you put that same amount in twice more and you might get close”.  Dill!

I’m usually served by girls and they have a pretty good handle of estimating.  In fact, a few weeks ago I asked one of the lasses for “around 300 grams” and she came up with 299. 

The look on her face when I said it wasn’t good enough was priceless.

  1. Thomas Houseman
    November 2, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Hehehe, meany! 1 gram… she should have just blown on the scales a bit 😛

    Thomas – Now I would have got grumpy if she’d done that.

  2. AZ
    November 2, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Every first Wednesday of the month is senior discount day at our local grocery stores. If you’re 55 or over you get 10% off your purchases. I went last month and the pimpled faced checker determined that 35¢ was 10% of my $22.78 purchase. I didn’t want to hold up the line so I went to the courtesy counter and the girl behind the counter agreed that 35¢ was indeed 10% of $22.78. I explained moving the decimal over one digit, but it was lost on her. I wonder how they get jobs in grocery stores when they can’t do simple math. I left in disgust, I don’t think I’ll be shopping there again.

    AZ – Maybe it was the 3rd May and he was taking 10% off the date on the slip! Just a rough theory.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

