Home > Muppet > The Frequent Flyer

The Frequent Flyer

October 31, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Sorry about the lack of posts lately but we’ve been really busy.  This retirement has flies on it.  I might have to go back to work to get some order in my life.  Yeah, right!

I’ll do a follow-up later today on my Memory Lane post from last week but just a trailer for the moment.

Talking about flies, we took young Muppet and MM to the airport yesterday as they were heading to Adelaide to see Muppets Daddy who is over there working as a project manager for his company who is doing the underground cabling for the new de-salination plant.  MD comes home at the weekends but they thought they’d go over there for a change and see what he gets up to.

We’re on the Ring Road nearing Melboune Airport and Muppet spies a plane taking off in the distance.

Muppet. “What is that aeroplane?”

MM. “It’s a red plane (Virgin)”

Muppet. “Oh, good, you get a free Dora on red planes”

This kid is just 5 and has flown interstate several times including a trip to England when she was about two so she has the airline perks all sewn up!

When MP asked her how she could remember that trip when she was so young, she remarked, “I have photos to remind me”

Of course!

  1. june in florida
    October 31, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Remember these snippets, write a book and your golden years could really be golden.

    June – I think I’m in my golden years now!

  2. AZ
    October 31, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Reminds me of a time when my sister was talking to a nephew, they were going though noises things make, you know, a dog goes “bow wow”, a cat goes “meow”, a bird goes “tweet”, and then my sister asks what noise does a clock make, and the kid looks all confused for a second and then he says “clocks don’t make noise.” Oh yeah, digital, my sister forgot clocks haven’t ticked in ages. Kids, they’re just to smart nowadays.

    AZ – A different world nowadays. Just ask them what a tape recorder or even a VHS tape is and they would be stumped.

    • November 1, 2009 at 1:03 am

      …. and ask them to use a phone with a dial…..

      And they still think life is hard and not fair. They don’t know the meaning of tough. Don’t get me started.

  3. Mary
    November 1, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    It reminds me of my young niece who had travelled to England when she was three with her parents. On this particular day I was driving her back from a trip to Bendigo to Geelong. When we arrived on the outer suburbs of Geelong, she piped up from the back seat with this comment – “oh, great we are nearly back in Australia.” It had been a long drive!

    Mary – A comment! Welcome.

    I remember my first trip interstate and it was like going to another country. Can you imagine how many “Are we nearly there” comments parents would get on a 24 hour flight to the UK!

  4. Muppet's Mum
    November 2, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Just a correction on Muppet’s age when we took her to the UK – she was nine months old. She was two when I went on my own and left her at home with Daddy.

    I just had a guess on the fly. Sue me. I probably should have checked but it didn’t really matter.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

