Home > Misc, Ocean Grove > Admin Matters

Admin Matters

October 16, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Just a couple of items relating to my new blog and host site.

Muppet’s Mum has stated that the new site loads a lot slower than before and posting comments is quite slow too.  On my computer, rendering the web page is still quick and the difference in loading the two sites with a cleared cache is about 1 second and I’d be interested in other readers views.  The old site is here

Also, I’ll experiment with downgrading security with Comments and you won’t be forced into putting your name and mail address in before you comment.  A real or a nickname as before would be appreciated or else you’ll end up as Anonymous and I don’t like them.  If you put all the details in once, a cookie might preserve it for future logins.

For a light-hearted moment, I was having a run through our Nature Reserve yesterday morning and came out along the access road and came across a wallaby who had found it’s way out and would soon be in danger of meeting the highway and impeding doom.

I turned around and ushered him back towards the reserve, so here you have me clapping my hands with this Skippy bounding in front of me until I caught up with him and we were both running/bounding alongside one another.

I was ready for someone coming the other way with a quip about me and my mate out for a jog/hop together.

  1. Thomas Houseman
    October 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    No slower than before, but I like the new site better. It needs a link to your smugmug stuff though 🙂

    Thomas – Thanks. I found a plug-in that is supposed to allow people to edit their own comments but it’s a bit fiddly to get working but I’ll perservere so people can correct their error like yours miraculously did.

    What do you mean by a link to Smugmug stuff? I thought all the links for photos were working?

    • Thomas Houseman
      October 16, 2009 at 9:10 pm

      Never mind, I’m blind. I was looking on the right hand banner for your photo’s, not up the top!

  2. june in florida
    October 16, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Everything is working quick and ok for me, clicked on Nepal photos no problem,Btw if you going to have photographable moments,like with the wallaby take a camera person with you.

    June – Glad to hear that. Unfortunately, I can’t carry the camera when I’m running.

  3. AZ
    October 16, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Comments workin’ just fine for me, and I’m not having any problems with your photo archive either. Only problem I have is that you can’t carry a camera while you’re running, heck we had a woman in the U.S. steal a frozen turkey by placing it between her thighs under her dress and then she ran out of the store, so what’s your problem? 🙂

    AZ – Goodness gracious me! Conjures all sorts of impure thoughts! Our favourite saying here is, “Could only happen in America!”

  4. October 17, 2009 at 2:27 am

    Oh good lord. You’re “retired” and outrunning Skippies while I lumber along, barely able to outrun my recliner…

    You’re either an inspiration or an evil nuisance of a good example…

    Scott – Don’t get me started. Remember what they say about the older you get and the better you were! What chance do think some little upstart Skippy has against this.

  5. Laura
    October 17, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Well next time we have to get the sheep in for shearing we will leave the sheep dog at home for a rest and I’ll give you a call!

    Laura – Dogbait rounding up sheep. I could do that if the price is right like a nice big bone a day. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

