Home > Uncategorized > ‘Ol Farmer Dogbait

‘Ol Farmer Dogbait

Now I think I’m fairly up with computers but I’ve had to bow to a genius.  A 5 year old one!

Muppet and her mum started playing a game on Facebook called Farmville where you create your own farm and you harvest crops, tend animals and grow trees for cash and buy equipment and extend your farm through additional Experiences and so on and so forth.

You drag in neighbours who have created their own farms and you can exchange gifts and help out on their farms for cash and additional experience.

Muppet and mum dragged me into this puerile game and Muppet was visiting for a sleepover yesterday so she decides I needed help with my miserable plot of land because hers was far better than mine.  So here I have this 5 year old sitting at my computer with amazing mouse skills and dexterity that some adults couldn’t master in their lifetime.  The banter goes on like this………

Muppet: “Reg, let’s buy you some more animals. Would you like another cow?” Before I could reply, click, click, bought.

Muppet: “You need more trees. Would you like another banana tree?” Click, click, bought.

Before this bossy little farm manager came along, I had been doing quite well harvesting crops and accumulating hard earned nosh for my pending retirement.  However, it was starting to deplete with this blatant disregard for other peoples money but I thought lets just patronise her.

Muppet: “Reg, I don’t like those yellow bales of hay so how about I buy you a red and blue one”  Delete, delete, click, click, bought. 

Upon enquiring about the significance of red and blue hay, I was informed they were “more nutritious for the cows”.  I never knew you could get genetically modified hay, but who am I to argue.

Muppet: “Reg, how about we buy you a barn”

Me: “YIKES, KID, THAT’S GOING TO BANKRUPT ME!”

Muppet: “Okay, then Reg, you can afford a small rest tent”.  Click, click etc.

If this muscling-in wasn’t enough, she decides MP could do a better job and proceeded to give my farmer a serious makeover.  Considering MP comes from the farming stock, she might just be right.

By the time she had finished, my farm had advanced a couple of levels and I’d been awarded several ribbons for being such an industrious farmer.

Who said this game was puerile.

  1. Muppet
    August 26, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Reg. I need another neighbour. I thought we’d discussed this. You must tell MP to create her own farm and become my neighbour so that I can expand my farm. Please. Can’t you see I have no more room for animals, crops or trees! That way next time I come for a sleepover I can change MPs farmer and you can go back to having a purple mohawk 😉

    Muppet – Sorry, since you changed my persona, MP runs the farm now and I’ve been relegated to the barn pig sty. I suppose I could always leave and start my own farm and you could expand and then you wouldn’t get into trouble with council regulations which you have obviously contravened.

  2. Muppet
    August 26, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Do it! Do it!

    Muppet – Peggy would love to slosh around the paddocks with you.

  3. Scott from Oregon
    August 27, 2009 at 12:18 am

    Someday they will rule the world…

    Scott – I know who’s world is being ruled at the moment!

  4. August 27, 2009 at 1:37 am

    I play that game too. Add me in and I’ll be everybody’s neighbour! LOL

    Peggy – How about you and Muppet’s Mum get your wellies on.

  5. AZ
    August 27, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Thus far I’ve avoided Farmville like the plague, I keep getting invites from fellow Facebook friends to join in the fun, but it looks like more yard work to me!

    AZ – Hey, Muppet’s Mum would love you to death if you would be her neighbour.

  6. August 27, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I’ve managed to wean myself off of Farmtown recently. It was too much of a time waster. I still keep getting gift requests though.

    Steve – I was reading about this game and it seems this Zynga has been accused of pinching the idea from Farmtown

  7. june in florida
    August 27, 2009 at 11:01 am

    A couple of years and your be going to Muppet for computer advice.

    June – Pride will keep me ahead of her.

  8. thomashouseman
    August 27, 2009 at 11:53 am

    You’re welcome to add me on Facebook if you like DB.

    http://www.facebook.com/thomashouseman

    Thomas – Coming up

  9. August 27, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I’ve avoided Facebook so far. In spite of being invited to join numerous times by real life acquaintances. It worries me putting my personal details out there. There was a case here just recently where a lady’s Facebook account was hacked and her friends and relatives got desperate emails saying she was in stranded in London and in trouble and needed money…. and one person even sent quite a large sum to hep her relative out. All a scam. I’m paranoid about that happening.

    Shammy – I can understand people’s fear with these things. My sister rang me the other day saying she had just won 4 tickets to the USA for being the millionth visitor to a web site and wanted me and MP to take them. Yeah, right!

    I know all the scams and lurks out there so not worried about this weby thingy .

  10. MPS
    August 28, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I love it! What a great story. Go Holly!

  11. Laura
    August 28, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Oh no….i might just have to get my farm up and running again. I was addicted to it a few months ago but unfortunately i have too many other jobs that were needing my attention! It is a fun game though 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

