Home > Uncategorized > Hardenbergia violacea

Hardenbergia violacea

We planted this Australian native trellis creeper a few years ago and it comes out with these beautiful flowers in winter.  Hopefully the camper van should arrive soon and we’ll be Happy Wanderers too.

Happy WandererFor something totally unrelated, we dropped off for a coffee at our favourite cafe after a long walk and I decided to deviate from my usual latte/flat white for one of these.  It’s a white hot chocolate and incredibly sweet, and even though I’m impartial to sweet things, this thing actually hurts your teeth.

Back to their excellent coffee methinks.

Hot white chocolate

  1. june in florida
    August 7, 2009 at 1:01 am

    So beautiful,reminds me of a blue clematis my aunt had when i was a kid. I have been eating coffee ice cream lately even though I’m not much into sweet stuff either.

    June – Gloria Jeans makes a vanilla iced coffee with cream on top which I don’t mind occasionally.

  2. AZ
    August 7, 2009 at 3:46 am

    So that’s what hardenbergia is supposed to look like, it grows in Phoenix but it struggles for a foothold and the ones I’ve seen are scraggly with just a flower here and there.

    I don’t do fancy coffee, I like my coffee hot and black.

    AZ – Probably struggles because it’s homesick. 🙂 You couldn’t call that black swill that you Yanks drink coffee. The Italians taught us what good coffee was all about.

  3. August 7, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    The trellis creeper is beautiful!

    Peggy – I’m not sure whether we’re supposed to trim it back but it seems to flourish okay.

  4. Muppet's Mum
    August 9, 2009 at 9:34 am

    White hot chocolate is too sweet for me. The Chocolate Room does a nice hot chocolate with chilli. Now that’s yum!

    MM – Can’t say chilli and chocolate appeals to me. Might give it a try sometime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

