Home > Uncategorized > The older you get……

The older you get……

The old block and his chipMy Dad’s 94th birthday yesterday and we took him and my step mother out for a nice lunch before adjourning back to his place for the cake and blowing out the candles bit.  Here we are holding each other up!

Dad’s eyesight and hearing are fading now, but other than that, he has it altogether.  He was born in Paddington, London on 4 August 1915 and spent his childhood living two streets from Battersea Park on the other side of the Thames only a stones throw from Buckingham Palace.  I told him that if he still lived there, the house would probably worth millions now.

He was telling me what a great place it was growing up as a kid with all the cinemas, libraries, skateboard parks (only kidding) close by, but more importantly, swimming pools. 

Dad was a champion swimmer at High School and won many Interschool swimming events and one of his prizes was a membership card for entry to any swimming pool in the Borough while he was at school.

So did I inherit his sporting genes?  Have you got several hours to spare?   smile_wink

  1. Muppet's Mum
    August 5, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    A great big HAPPY 94th BIRTHDAY to your Dad! Come on then, tell us of your sporting prowess, we know you’re dying to 🙂

    MM – Humility prevents me. 😀

  2. june in florida
    August 5, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Happy birthday to Dad and many more. When I went to London from Oxford as a kid Paddington station was where I arrived. I remember going right after the war and seeing all the damage. Did your dads parents stay in London during the war? More stories about Dad please.+

    June – Both my grandmothers and my mothers father had passed away before the war but dad’s father didn’t die until 1956 but we were in Oz by then. He lived in London during the war but dad has never spoken much about him. I know that he punched an officers lights out while in France during WW1 and was sent back to England suffering “war neurosis” so he was lucky not to get the firing squad. Considering that, and that dad had several close shaves in Palestine, you could have all been spared this Babble!

    Mum was a nurse and lived through the blitz until she joined dad in Palestine in 1944 after they married. She survived a near miss from a bomb which landed near the nurses residence and remembered the bed leaping into the air and then just rolled over and went back to sleep.

    I would have had to leave the bed because it would have been soiled. 😦

  3. Phil Vernon
    August 6, 2009 at 9:16 am

    i envy you Reg, my dad passed away before i turned 40 at 61 years.

    Phil – My age, Phil. Too young. I’ve been lucky to have a great father for so long.

    By the way, getting back to the sporting genes bit, I’m glad you didn’t mention how you could out sprint me in races. Those were the days and now a couple of old hacks out to pasture. At least the older we get, the better we were! 😀

  4. AZ
    August 7, 2009 at 3:40 am

    Gees, I thought you were pretty good looking, but seeing you next to your Dad you just took a few steps back on the handsome scale! I hope I’m still as spry as your Dad when I’m 94.

    AZ – He was a very good looking man in his youth. He was showing me some old photos awhile back and I must get them scanned and I’ll show you one.

  5. Scott from Oregon
    August 10, 2009 at 12:56 am

    Well, here is to hoping you got his jeans…

    (and his sports jacket!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

