Home > Uncategorized > Disaster averted

Disaster averted

The observant among you will have noticed some subtle alterations to my banner.

Only one incident of note to report.  I went horse riding the other day, and although MP is experienced on the back of nags, I’ve only been on them a couple of times in my life.  I can pass on anything bigger than me.

I had this opportunity to have a ride so thought, what the heck, and I mounted the horse unassisted and it immediately began moving.  As it galloped along at a steady pace, I began slipping sideways from the saddle and started to panic.  I attempted to grab the horse’s mane but couldn’t get a firm grip so  I then threw my arms around the horse’s neck but continued to slide down the side of the horse.

The horse continued to gallop along as I continued to lose my grip so I attempted to leap away from the horse. Unfortunately my foot became entangled in the stirrup and was at the mercy of the horse’s pounding hooves as my head and upper body repeatedly struck the ground.

Moments away from unconsciousness and probable death, an observant K-Mart employee quickly unplugged the horse.

I must be getting desperate for material!

  1. thomashouseman
    July 27, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    ROFL! Made me laugh.

    Thomas – You wouldn’t be laughing if you knew the pain and humiliation I had to endure 😦

  2. July 27, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    At least I got a good laugh!

    muscat55 – Ditto. 😦

  3. Laura
    July 27, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Hahaha – i was almost convinced that you had taken up a new hobby in your retirement. I still remember Linda taking off around the paddock on Apple Jack!
    I’ve heard that those type of horses can be very dangerous though!! Maybe you need to get Muppet to show you how it’s done before you attempt that again! 🙂

    Laura – Yes, Linda and Apple Jack didn’t make the best of friends. There was a mutual dislike there.

  4. AZ
    July 28, 2009 at 7:34 am

    That was funny! I haven’t been on a horse for years, and after that story I’m positive my horse riding days are over.

    AZ – Same, same.

  5. Scott from Oregon
    July 28, 2009 at 10:11 am

    It’s not your fault Dogbait. It’s all the popcorn butter the kids wipe on the animal before they ride…

    Scott – I’m going to sue the lot!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

