Home > Uncategorized > The Sweat Shop

The Sweat Shop

Wow, 13 comments from my last piece of Babble!  I’m on a roll!

If you read the comments from the last post, you may have picked up a reference to me playing with Barbie dolls.  The humiliation I’ve been subjected to by one little girl over the last five years defies the imagination but I’ve just learned to put up with it all.

Like most girls, our Holly Muppet loves her Barbie dolls and mum has learned to go along with it all.  For those of you not in the know, Muppet calls MP “Ninny” because she had trouble with her “L’s” when learning to talk and that was MP’s nickname as a baby.

Anyway, MP Ninny gets a couple of Barbies from the OP shop and pulls out the sewing machine and rustles up a couple of outfits for the bimbos dolls.  Don’t you think they look good?

599496946_Gd7db-X2[1]

Muppet came around one day and was most pleased with the result.  We leave the dolls here for when she visits and she enjoys playing with them.

Then came the orders.  “Ninny, could you get your sewing machine out and do some more clothes for my Barbies”. 

Next visit a week later and she rocks in and the first thing she says is, “Ninny, have you been busy on your sewing machine?”.

What do you think we are kid?  An exploited Vietnamese sweat shop? 

Get real!

  1. june in florida
    July 24, 2009 at 2:53 am

    New ebay business for MP, i think there’s more adults into Barbie here than kids. I don’t care for dolls but still have my teddy bear. DB you and MP are the best surrogate grandparents a kid could have.

    June – We love it and don’t do a bad job if I may say so. Ninny is good at this kid caper having taught them for 35 years but I stumble at times. Like winding her up at night when I should be dulling her senses.

    A new Target catelogue was sitting there and she was merrily circling the toys she would like. If it was up to me, I would have bought the lot the next day but I’m sure I would have been “advised” against it.

  2. thomashouseman
    July 24, 2009 at 7:40 am

    LOL – you ARE running a sweat shop! I wonder who I should report you too….

    Thomas – Maybe Nike or Adidas?

  3. Muppet's Mum
    July 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Is that all? Where’s the rest? 😉

    Only joking, you know the adoration is mutual and she really appreciates the hard work you put in.

    MM – Half a box still left and we got sick of laying them all out.

  4. Laura
    July 24, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    What fashionable barbies Holly has! Must have taken Ninny AGES. They are lovely 🙂

    Laura – Ninny loves doing it. Still more orders to fill though! She’s been rummaging around the Target toy sale and one little boy hasn’t been forgotten either.

  5. July 24, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    I still have all of my Barbies and My Little Ponies. I never made any clothes, but that would have been cool.

    Gabrielle – Maybe we can convince MP to setup an eBay shop and you can buy some. 🙂

  6. Scott from Oregon
    July 25, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I am sorry. I cannot bring myself to comment on doll clothes…

    Scott – I’ll pretend that wasn’t a comment. I’m pretty sure you probably stopped playing with your Barbies awhile back. I’ll get a post underway about buxom women and beer just for you.

  7. Laura
    July 25, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Oh no please no more toys!!! With the amount of toys a certain 1 year old has anyone would think he has had at least 16 birthdays…. 😉
    We will come for a visit very soon – it would be great just to see you xxoo

    Laura – These are for Christmas. He’ll be bored with all the others by then.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

