Home > Uncategorized > Wet behind the ears

Wet behind the ears

It’s very rare that I get drowned on a run but today happened to be one of them.  It can rain on you occasionally but thundering rain that soaks you to the skin is a rarity.  The weather radar is so good these days that you can usually plan a run but I forgot to look this morning. 

MP went off to her torture exercise class while I had a 10k run along the beach.  I always wear a Coolmax running singlet which handles wet well, but because it was only 6c, I wore a baggy cotton tee shirt which was a mistake.  I was about 2k from home and down it came, about 5mm in 10 minutes and I ended up like a drowned rat with this heavy, soggy tee shirt.  Getting soaked right down to the nether regions when you are running isn’t a pleasant experience either.

I was entering the Bluewaters Lake path near home and I have to run past a very large storm water pipe that flows into the lake. 592439612_3qSeH-X2[1] Our lake is a natural storm water catchment area and you can see it from this 1955 photo taken from the western end of the lake.  Our house today is between those two clumps of trees at the other end of the lake.  Of course, the whole area is now covered in trees and houses and a far cry from that photo.

However, I digress.  There was nothing flowing out of the pipe even though it was pounding rain but I heard this thundering sound echo from it’s mouth.  Next minute, this hail of water explodes out of the pipe like a burst dam and huge wall of water surges down the dry water course into the lake with me jogging along side it. Very impressive indeed and makes you realise how dangerous it can be hiking in canyons.  It also makes you bleed at the thought of all that water flowing into the lake, then the river and out to sea.

I can finally disprove one myth; there is no gold at the end of a rainbow because this huge one appeared across the lake and seemed to end in front of me.  I tore up the hill and in the gate to grab the camera for a couple of good shots before hypothermia set in. 592445990_grb9R-X2[1]

  1. june in florida
    July 16, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    There are two rainbows in the picture, obviously you went after the wrong one.I know how you felt getting soaked, i once thought it was a good idea to jump in the lake in jeans.

    June – Didn’t you know that pots of gold only go under the brightest rainbows! Begs the question why you would jump in a lake with your clothes on. Misspent youth?

  2. june in florida
    July 16, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Those two statements that have got me in trouble, what the hell and seemed like a good idea at the time.Didn’t have a bathing suit and “what the hell”

  3. July 16, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Haven’t I seen that picture before?

    Steve – I have shown pictures of rainbows at our place before. With the old one, maybe I did show that before too so excuse my excuse my if I if I repeat things these days.

  4. AZ
    July 16, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Nothing like a flash flood to remind you how insignificant you are. I remember witnessing a wall of water crashing down a usually dry creek, I heard a strange rumbling and could feel the ground vibrate under foot, in a flash I witnessed boulders being pushed by a six foot wall of mud and water, quite impressive as long as you’re on a hill looking down at it. The one thing it impressed upon me was to never set up a camp in a dry wash, in Arizona the storm that washes you away can be so far away you aren’t even aware of it.

    Hey June, ya never heard of skinny dipping?

    AZ – Have a look at this for the mother of all landslides and flash flood.

  5. june in florida
    July 17, 2009 at 3:55 am

    Yeh, but wouldn’t have been cool with the kids and families,lol

    June – Yeah, but you’re clothes would have been dry.

  6. July 17, 2009 at 4:47 am

    This reminds me of when YoungerSon and I were watching a baseball game in the park, and at the end of the game we could hear thunder in the distance. We headed home on foot, but the storm caught up with us and there was just nowhere to go but trudge home barefoot in a copy of Niagara Falls…. we were wet through to our undies, and when we got home we just stood in the porch and dripped, and laughed and laughed and laughed…. we still laugh about it.

    Shammy – MP, Muppet’s Mum and I ran a Half Marathon once in pouring rain the whole race. The track was flooded in places so we had to wade through up to our thighs in water. It was hilarious and we had such fun like kids frolicking at a water park.

  7. Scott from Oregon
    July 17, 2009 at 7:48 am

    I remember playing a game of soccer in cotton sweats during a rain.

    I was the goal keeper and I didn’t think to put on shorts underneath…

    I had some funny moon moments I’m sure.

    Nice rainbows. You must have stole that picture from a magazine…

    Scott – Fortunately, I had dark shorts on so was spared that humiliation. Nope, that photo is all mine for a change.

  8. Laura
    July 17, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I love that rainbow photo. There have been some great ones around home lately and on the way home from Warrnambool on Thursday. I have been chasing that pot of gold too….still chasing 🙂

    Laura – Forget that pot of gold. That rainbow ended up beside me except it was in the lake. Maybe I’ll go down there tomorrow and wade in and have a gander.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

