Home > Uncategorized > Idle post

Idle post

A mixed bag of oddities for you today gleaned from wasting too much time surfin da net.

This could well be the title of this post and would make a seriously good banner for my blog.

We start off with a picture of our temperature gauge taken a few minutes ago. Could anyone from the northern climes tell me what that stroke in front of the zero is?  Never seen it before.  Maybe that’s why Sammy went out this morning and promptly turned around and came back in!

How about this from a great dunny in Houston.  You could check your makeup here and flash to your hearts content here.

We know the good ‘ol USA in in financial strife but surely it hasn’t come to this?

Obesity is now a problem everywhere but maybe we blame this lady

How would you like this to be your bedroom?

Why did I ever give up the cancer sticks 30 years ago?  Did someone put an extra zero on that cake?

Very appropriate while swine flu swills around us.

Mmmm, left or right?

No ambiguity here.

Just what Sammy boy would do on these cold mornings. 

Bring back this.

How did this sneak in?  Anyway, you can blame this kid for all the rubbish babble you read on this blog.  Check out the writing implements.  Jeez, he must be old!

  1. thomashouseman
    July 8, 2009 at 8:14 am

    I TOLD you it was cold when I visited Melbourne last week!!! Brrgh. Back to double digits here in Sydney at least but still to chilly for me. I think I prefer the tropics. I’d love to live somewhere with a climate like Hawaii or Malaysia.

    T.

    p.s. I like the dog picture (first one above)

    Thomas – Singapore, Borneo, Darwin just before the Wet are all very unpleasant so you can have the tropics. I don’t mind the Victorian weather, in fact, we’ve just got back from a long bike ride on the Rail Trail and a beautiful, sunny day about 16c so very pleasant. We stayed in the Cook Islands for 2 weeks once and that was great weather.

  2. Scott from Oregon
    July 8, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Bravo. Love the fat lady liberty…

    Scott – What about this one

  3. june in florida
    July 8, 2009 at 11:46 am

    I always thought Lady Liberty, the regular one looks like Sylvester Stallone. Weird thought on a weird blog but I’m laughing.

    June – Wot, ya calling my blog weird!

  4. July 8, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Good on ya DB! Keep on keeping on. We won’t desert you. Oh ye of little faith 🙂

    Randy – Thanks, mate. Those comments keep me going.

  5. July 8, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    I think we were -5’C this morning, followed of course by an absolutely beautiful day. Some great pics DB, especially that toilet, gosh one would feel ‘public’ seems a warped sense of humour to build something like that! Night time could be tricky though.

    muscat55 – You can have the -5! It turned out beautiful here too and we went for a long bike ride along the Rail Trail

  6. July 8, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    I don’t always chat you up, DB, but I still am a regular visitor.

    What with flat screen TVs and monitors, a great sleeping spot for cats is rapidly disappearing. Also the teasing by dropping their tails down in front of the screen is becoming as rare as “spinning the dial on the TV”.

    Oh, do me a favor and wish HM a belated Happy B’day from me.

    PD – You have a good memory. She had a kiddy party at the local Bowling Lanes with her friends and had a great time. She’s growing up too fast. Her and mum have gone away for a few days for some mother/daughter bonding session.

  7. AZ
    July 8, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Oh my, we’re heading for 115°F this weekend, I’d love some cold right about now. Sorry for my long absence, significant other had some eye surgery and you know how men are, I spent all my time catering to his medical needs, feeding him, and to beat all he couldn’t drive, so I had to add chauffeur to my list of duties. He’s on the mend now, so hopefully I’ll be commenting more often.

    Hey your picture as a boy was great, and don’t say anything about the old out of style writing instrument, it’s the same one I used in school, wasn’t that the model introduced right after scrawling on cave walls went out of vogue?

    AZ – “Scrawling on the cave walls” I like that! I have a suggestion how to cool off in Arizona. Turn on the oven and hop in. 😀

  8. July 9, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Brrr! That is cold. Hard to believe I’m sitting around the house with all the windows open!

    Not for long though. Sun rises and up the temperature goes.

  9. July 9, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    I clicked on all your links and I must say, they all gave me a good laugh this morning! Love that pudgy Statue of Liberty.
    And I didn’t know it ever got down to the freezing point where you are, I’m quite surprised. How do the plants in your garden manage? I suppose it’s not that cold for long, as soon as the sun comes up the temp must rise a bit.

    Shammy – It’s fairly rare to get below freezing here. -1 would be extreme and this only occurs on frosty mornings and signifies a very nice, sunny day. You are right about the plants as the temperature soars when the sun rises and got up to 17c today. Very nice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

