Home > Uncategorized > Where’s that pot?

Where’s that pot?

Shamelessly flogged from another blog………………………

2007 – Chinese year of the Chicken – Bird Flu Pandemic devastates parts of Asia

2008 – Chinese year of the Horse – Equine Influenza decimates Australian racing

2009 – Chinese year of the Pig – Swine Flu Pandemic kills hundreds of pigs/humans around the globe.

2010 – Chinese year of the Cock – what could possibly go wrong?

Something more intelligent.  I’ve found a new way to post replies to your comments.  I get an email when you post a comment and I just send a reply and it gets posted indented under you comment.  Cool, eh.  I bet you don’t give a rat’s clacker!

By the way, I know it’s echo time, but your comments are really appreciated and it always gives a blogger some feedback if their words of wisdom are appreciated.  Or depreciated.

Now for the weekly pic.  With the price of gold these days, I raced out the back gate, but alas, nothing there.

548754134_FLebY-X2[1]

  1. thomashouseman
    May 29, 2009 at 9:43 am

    If you look carefully there’s two rainbows. You obviously dug under the wrong one!

    Thomas – I saw that but the other one was too far away. 🙂

  2. Antikva
    May 29, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Oi, Dogbait, if you receive an email from the Department of Health telling you not to eat tinned pork because of swine flu – ignore it. It’s just spam.

    lol, I crack myself up 😀

    Bloody leprachauns, biggest liars ever! and American dictionaries who don’t know how to speak Aussie! GAH. 😀

    Antikva – I like it!

    Are people who get this flu just making hogs of themselves? Or something like that.

  3. Muppet's Mum
    May 29, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Completely unrelated to this post, but I hereby challenge Ninny to a game of mini golf! We’ll have to think of an appropriate trophy for the winner.

    MM – Ninny said, “You’re on!”

    Ooh, I can see a cat fight coming.

  4. thomashouseman
    May 29, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    I rang the swine flu hotline yesterday…… all I got was crackling.

    Thomas – Another good one! Did you think that one up on your own and don’t give me a porkie.

  5. june in florida
    May 29, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    I guess you guys will need extra support in 2010. Db you probably looked under the wrong end.MM prize, girls night out loser pays.

    June – Yes, yes and the last one sounds a good idea.

  6. Scott from Oregon
    May 30, 2009 at 4:19 am

    “”Oi, Dogbait, if you receive an email from the Department of Health telling you not to eat tinned pork because of swine flu – ignore it. It’s just spam.””

    Not THAT’S FUNNY!!

    Nice double arc ya got there Dogbait!

    Scott – Who has a triple-strength version of the swine flu?

    The Big Bad Wolf

  7. Muppets Mum
    May 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Meow. I wouldn’t mind having to pay for a girl’s night out with Ninny. She doesn’t exactly have extravagant tastes … on the other hand now if she lost … hmmm I’m already thinking of a good night out with french champagne!!!! 🙂

    Muppets Mum (without the apostrophe) – Sorry, Ninny’s out practicing at the moment!

    So you’re saying we’re cheapskates? We have news for you.

  8. Muppets Mum
    May 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Yay! My comment didn’t get eaten!

    Pity about your lack of punctuation!

  9. Antikva
    May 31, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    The Big Bad Wolf said I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I’ll blow your house down The little pig says F**k off or I’ll sneeze on you

    Sorry, can’t help myself 😀
    and no I didn’t, I am not that funny lol

    Don’t you just love Pooh Bear!

  10. May 31, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    😦 Go on… make all these pig jokes, meanwhile my poor teenage daughter, who has been penned up all week with ‘flu like’ symptoms (initially dismissed by a GP as nothing but a common cold), is now awaiting her test results…

    It was when we heard that 3 of her friends had tested positive for Human Swine Flu H1N1, those same friends she was out with on Friday 22nd May at a social event (at Melbourne High School with hundreds of other teenagers from schools like Canterbury Girls, Melbourne Girls… these school names ringing any bells?), that we thought a second opinion was warranted! (her symptoms started 48 hrs after the social event)

    So you see the real joke is that whilst the Dept of Whoever are running around trying to stop people getting off a ship, and giving Tamiflu to anyone who might have come within 50 metres of the first 5 cases, swine flu is out there, spreading fast and there is certainly no rapid response in our case!

    TL – Sorry to hear that. Hope she is starting to feel better. It will probably start running rampant soon so might be a good time to go camping in the bush again.

  11. thomashouseman
    May 31, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Yeah. I have a friend in Melb. in a fairly decent private school. The kids doing the VCE have been segregated from all other students to lessen the risk of catching the flu….. till they step out the door and get the same bus home. Great thinking that… – NOT!

    Thomas – I think quarantine is unmanageable now

  12. Antikva
    May 31, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    My 2nd eldest had it last week. The 1st GP said have 2 days off work, take an overdose of aspirin & go back to work, she’s epileptic and still not stabilised on epilem.
    She went and saw her neuro, who’s arranged for other medication.

    My youngest is a chronic asthmatic.

    When stressed, I make jokes. sorry.

    Antikva – Sounds very familiar.

  13. June 1, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    PS The result came through soon after I penned the previous comment… YES she has tested positive – I think she was case number 249, but she is almost well and allowed back into the community from tomorrow! Her father, step-mother and brother are now quarantined for a week!!! (and none of them have symptoms) They are NOT HAPPY. Going bush seems an excellent idea… can I come?

    They’ll probably end up wearing it like a badge of honour! You certainly planned being out of town at the right time.

  14. AZ
    June 2, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I don’t know anyone who has the swine flu, and I’m a hop, skip, and jump from the Mexico border. Maybe those of us who live so close to Mexico have grown immune.

    Sorry I’ve not been commenting in a while, but after double, triple, quadruple coupons, another store stated doing super double coupons (they would double coupons up to $2 (.75 worth $1.50; .80 worth $1.60; .90 worth $1.80, and $1. Worth $2). I’ve been living at the grocery stores, I only come home to unload and eat.

    Senorita AZ – ¿Por qué no se acaba de dar los comestibles fuera gratis!

  15. AZ
    June 2, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Oh, if it was that simple everybody would do it, it’s the buying the Sunday paper, clipping, indexing, and filing those little coupons that keeps everybody from doing it!

    I’m not sure if that translation was meant to be what I said, which was, “Why don’t they just give it to you for free”

  16. AZ
    June 3, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    I took your phrase to a translation site and got the gist of the sentence [sadly, I don’t speak Spanish], and they do give it to you for free, but they want that stupid coupon in trade. Hence my reply, it would be to easy if they just handed out free stuff, they want you to work for the free stuff, and I do!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

