Home > Uncategorized > Too Much Fun

Too Much Fun

Living in a popular tourist area has it’s share of tourist attractions which we take for granted and usually avoid. 

MP and I have an Entertainment Book full of vouchers where we pay $50 a year and get restaurant meals with usually one free or 25% off the bill and also vouchers for many of the attractions around the traps. 

The 2008-09 book expires at the end of May and so it’s been literally out of one restaurant into another and so we’ve become instant food critics.  We’ve usually given the attractions the flick but we decided to visit one today that we’ve driven past for years without a thought of visiting.

A Maze ‘n Games has both a large maze and a mini golf course which we had a voucher for and so we saved $14 for a starter.  We had the place to ourselves and so we headed to the maze which has four coloured towers which you have to find and get your card stamped.  We did that in about 15 minutes flat but it took us about 45 minutes to find the only exit from the damn place.  In the end, I was getting nausea from going around in circles but it was a lot of fun.

We recovered quickly after a latte and headed over to the mini golf.  Well, did this turn out to be hysterical!  I played golf in my youth and knew a bit about a putter but MP drove off the first tee like Tiger Wood at the first at Augusta!  I was down the other end and nearly had a ball embedded where it really hurts. 

However, things settled down and we found this course quite tricky especially when you had to negotiate pipes and an assortment of bizarre hazards.  We’re both competitive so things got serious but I had her on toast by the 9th with a lead of 4 strokes. 

By the 17th, I was a stroke up and cruising when I dropped my bundle with a 6 and she managed to fluke a 2.  A tricky one on the 18th had me confident that she’d crumble under the pressure by my 2, but shiver me timbers me lads, have a look what I had to put up with!  A bloody hole-in-one!

Of course, the hard part to take was the blatant smugness and prancing around I had to endure for the next 10 minutes.

Anyhow, it was a lot of fun.

546392340_mR5ZS-X2[1]

  1. May 26, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Hooray for MP! Great game. I love playing mini-golf. There’s a place just around the corner from me called Timber Creek with 2 mini courses, complete with shipwrecks, lumberjacks, water hazards etc, gotta go there and shoot a few rounds this summer. There’s also baseball batting cages, that’s such a lot of fun too. Wanna join me?

    Shammy – Now there’s an invite that might be hard to resist. So you live in Stouffville, eh? As I may have mentioned before, we have friends living in Georgetown and we’ve whizzed past your place.

    I looked up the Timber Creek Golf web site and on Google Earth and it’s an amazing place. Could have serious fun there.

    • May 26, 2009 at 11:55 pm

      I just looked at the web site, that maze looks like FUN! I’d probably have to be rescued though, after about 3 hours trying to find my way out in the hot Aussie sun. In the fall, some of the farmers here cut mazes into their cornfields.

      You wouldn’t suffer under a hot Aussie sun at the moment. We’ve been having some balmy days around 20c but we have to rug up today as it’s plummeting down to 16c!

  2. Scott from Oregon
    May 27, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I see two holes in one!
    Man! You need to pay for lessons to keep up with a ringer like that!

    Scott – As they say, arse beats class.

  3. june in florida
    May 27, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Its a lot of fun playing tourist in your own back yard, especially if you can do it without all the tourists.Great shot MP.

    June – As you say, far better doing these things when they are gone.

  4. May 27, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Golly, I haven’t played miniature golf in decades. Perhaps I need to get away from the computers and get outside more. 🙂 I do remember that they are very tricky to play, so patience is a virtue. Have fun!

    Randy – I played MS Golf on the computer ages ago until I got sick of it. Do you want a copy. 😉

  5. Muppet's Mum
    May 28, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Muppet’s Dad and I had an ongoing tournament at Adventure Golf across the road from Amaze n Games at one time. We went there every Sunday and played both courses. I was the champion of The Mountain and he was the champion of The Mill. Stacks of fun! And of course Muppet herself now loves mini golf as evidenced by our Port Fairy photos!

    MM – Sorry, you got buried by the spam filter again.

    We played Adventure Golf yesterday and I got absolutely hammered by MP. I’m not blogging on this one! We did The Mill, and at one up-hill hole, the ball rolled back at my feet four times while she popped in a 2. I couldn’t do a thing right and she slammed dunked me all but one hole. We’re doing the 36 holes again soon as I demanded a replay!

    This from someone who used to play a reasonable game of golf!

  6. Muppet's Mum
    May 29, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Hasn’t anyone ever told you that how well you play real golf has absolutely no benefit when it comes to mini golf? I’m a mini golf champ and can’t hit a real golf ball to safe my life!

    Muppets Mum – I reckon you’d meet your match with Ninny.

    PS Found a new way to reply to comments. Trouble is I’ve got to get you out of jail everytime! Got to find a solution why WP hates you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

