Home > Uncategorized > On reflection

On reflection

Anyone reading the comments on my last post could well be mistaken that this blog has turned into computer users forum.  Wow, I’ve finally found true meaning for this “Babble”!  Only kidding.  Will get back on track after this one whatever “on track is”.

For anyone currently using Windows XP or earlier will find the change to Windows 7 to be a big change visually and performance wise.  If you have used Vista, then the changes are more subtle but there are some nice features and Win7 seems to be getting good reviews.  I’ve been using the 64bit version for a couple of weeks now and not one crash or BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) and quite pleased with it.

I’m not going into it in detail but a couple of things I’ve read.  You can upgrade from Vista but you have to do clean install from XP.  If you would like to find out if your computer can run Win7, check out the Windows 7 Advisor.   No better place than here for all the good oil.

Enough of the techno-talk which seems to have lost at least one of my readers.  We’re off to the new Italian restaurant in Ocean Grove with Muppet and her Mum  today.  It’s been getting great reviews so will report back.

In the meantime, getting back into the theme of Babble, I was quite impressed with this photo taken on our walk along the Glenelg River.  I submitted it to our local rag’s photo competition which I’ll never hear about of course. 

Maybe the title, “Is the Glenelg a palindrome or a reflection?” might be lost on them.

531848921_q25PY-X2[1]

  1. Muppet's Mum
    May 22, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Not quite a palindrome as there are no bits of blue sky at the top of your photo (or the bottom if you’ve rotated it to test us readers). Almost the perfect photo, but not quite 🙂 Because I’m such an expert!

    PS. Let’s see if your blog eats this comment.

    MM – WordPress hates you for some reason. Haven’t you got the message yet?

    Ninny picked up on the blue sky too. You woman are so picky. So send me your best photo and we’ll post that for judgment. 🙂

  2. june in florida
    May 22, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Whichever way up, i liked it.Win 7, anything new i wait till all the kinks are out if any then try it. Still having problems but i will see if time cures it.

    June – Thanks, at least someone likes it! Send me an email with your problems and I’ll see if I can help.

  3. May 23, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Very impressive picture, the river must have been dead calm.

    muscat55 – I take that back about women being so picky.

  4. AZ
    May 26, 2009 at 1:22 am

    Did you mean me when you said you lost a reader? You didn’t lose me, my favorite grocery store is doing “double, triple, quad” coupons this week. I’ve spent more time at the grocery store than at home, but it will be over by tomorrow, and then I’ll be back.

    AZ – It wasn’t you. I was making reference to a couple of my commentors who said they didn’t understand the techno babble.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

