Home > Uncategorized > Sorely tempted

Sorely tempted

Our local Neighbourhood Centre provides a great service with various programs and services for the community. 

I used to take computer classes for Seniors and really enjoyed seeing these people using a computer for the first time and getting something practical from it.  I’d have them contact their children, who, in many cases were overseas,  and tell them when they would be doing the email sessions.  The look on their faces when a reply popped up was a delight to behold.

The 8 week course gave them a touch of what a computer could do and they went away with a zest to learn more.  I used to tell them there was so much to learn but to just tackle one thing at a time, do more courses, and generally just play around with it.  Their greatest fear was that they would break something but I had a drastic lesson on that subject that would allay their concerns.

I now do a volunteer 2 hour session once a week where people can come in and get help for specific computer problems for a gold coin donation.  We started off with 2 trainers but we only got a couple of people at a time so they dropped it down to one volunteer for this term.

Of course, Murphy was lingering for this weeks session when 6 people all fronted up at once hence I was rushed off my feet answering various queries.  We do this in the computer room so we can use the equipment to emulate their problems and find a solution.  Most queries relate to email and no question is too silly. 

Except in one case.

This grumpy old guy rocks up with his brand new notebook computer, pops it on the desk, mumbles on about computers generally and demands in a loud voice, “Teach me what this can do!”.

Of course sir, would you prefer it lengthways or sideways up your anal canal? 

Okay, so I was just thinking it but I was sorely tempted.

He had a stack of mail in his Hotmail Inbox which he wanted to file into folders. I showed him how to create a folder and file them and then he carried on about how, “There’s nothing written down about how to do these things”.  I showed him how to click on that highly elusive HUGE button called HELP, type in a query such as “Create a folder”, and volia, every step meticulously highlighted.

His answer?  “How am I supposed to know that?”.

Not being an fwit would help.  Again, sorely tempted.

  1. Muppet's Mum
    May 19, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Love your current mini bite!

    Sounds like you just met one of those grumpy old men!

    MM – Every morning when I look in the mirror!

    I must tell all my readers the great service provided by one MM from BIT who provides those words of wisdom every day.

  2. Muppet's Mum
    May 19, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Well, not every day! Just the days I feel like working!

    Yep, a faux pas. One day to do some work and another day to collect your pay!

    Gee, it makes me yearn for the good life again!

  3. Muppet's Mum
    May 19, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Yep, I’m the part-time part-timer!

  4. May 19, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Oh DB I could hardly finish reading it for laughing, I think I would have liked to have been a fly on the wall that day, your self control was amazing.

    muscat55 – I was in a good mood that day. Could tolerate anything.

  5. thomashouseman
    May 19, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Rofl! You just described my job to a T. (What’s with that saying anyway? or should it be a “tea”?)

    The company I work for is contracted to provide helpdesk services to companies that don’t want to employ their own IT staff.

    The truck drivers that call up are the best. “I don’t know what’s wrong with this damn stupid laptop… it worked when I was given it last week but ever since I dropped it out the F$%^n truck cabin f%^&*n door it doesn’t turn on F^%^&n properly.” etc

    Thomas – The reason I got tagged as a grumpy old sod when working in computer support in a previous life was for these very reasons. They used to line up at my desk on a Monday morning and I’d make a general announcement, “Check if your power cable is plugged in”.

    That got rid of most of them.

  6. thomashouseman
    May 19, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Oh and I tell you the truth! I know it’s a home grown legend story… but I once had someone say their mug holder on their new PC keeps retracting itself. It didn’t do that on their old pc. Can they have their old pc back?

    Thomas – When I worked in computer support for BIT, one girl was putting a credit card into her floppy drive and pulling it out very quickly. I inquired as to what she was doing and she said she was shopping on the internet, and they asked for a credit card number, so she was using the ATM “thingy.”

    Actually, I must fez up to pinching that one from here.

    The one I really love, and I’m sure you would have heard it too, was the Dell tech who was fault tracing with a client over the phone because the computer wouldn’t turn on. When the client mentioned that he had a torch and Mr Dell inquired why, he was told, “because there’s been a power cut”.

    He then told the client to pack his computer back into it’s original packaging and return it, and when the client asked why, the tech said, “Because a computer is wasted on an fwit like you”.

    Seems he was sacked but may have spawned a great story, urban legend or not.

  7. May 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I checked out your site from the blogger awards and like it. I voted for you. I hope you win.

    Please check out my site nominated for the best blog design. http://bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/73022. I hope you will vote for me also. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

