Home > Uncategorized > A Mystery

A Mystery

I haven’t been in the mood for blogging of recent but today’s beautiful weather put me in a better frame of mind.

We decided to get the mountain bikes out for a nice ride to Queenscliff along the Rail Trail for lunch.  We’ve been meaning to do this for ages but other things keep cropping up.

School holidays are over and so peace descends upon the world.  We had the Trail and the beautiful Hobson’s Gallery restaurant garden to ourselves for a scrumptious, leisurely lunch, before riding around to the Marina to see the Spirit of Mystery which was reported to be in the harbour.  However, she wasn’t there which was a bit of a mystery to us.

On the return trip, we cruised past the lovely Swan Bay before stopping for a break at the Suma Park station hoping for a ride back, but alas, a bit like Connex, the next train was late.  In fact, it wasn’t due for another three days!

A most enjoyable day, and considering we haven’t been on the bikes for ages, the 40k wasn’t too much of a burden on the bum or legs.

  1. April 22, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    It will be time to get the bike out again soon, but I can’t see myself biking 40k. I only learned to ride a bike about 5 years ago, never had one when I was a child, so I’m still not very confident about it.
    I looked at the Spirit of Mystery website, and I think it’s quite an achievement to sail such a little boat such a long distance. I wish they would mention the year more… lots of dates in history, but I couldn’t find which year the replica actually sailed. I am assuming it arrived in Australia this year, 2009…. right?

    Shammy – You must be the only person in the world who didn’t have a bike as a child! This site gives some dates for the journey.

  2. Scott from Oregon
    April 23, 2009 at 2:33 am

    I am glad your bum survived the ordeal.

    For me, I have to be careful of the nerves in my hands…

    Scott – I see you get around on a bike too. That one for your mum looks good and she loves it too.

  3. AZ
    April 23, 2009 at 2:46 am

    Shammy is not alone, I didn’t get my first bike until I was nearly 50. Dad never saw the need to put kids on wheeled transportation, it would give us some freedom, he didn’t believe in freedom for kids.

    AZ – That huge State you live in and he didn’t believe in freedom for you kids. What a shame.

  4. April 23, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Dogbait, I’m pretty sure I saw you about 3pm, crossing Shell Road near your high school – I’d been swimming and was returning for my school pickup, so just pinged my bikebell and zoomed straight past.

    You both looked okay – not fresh, but given you’d have done 39km by then, you weren’t too shabby.

    Cheers, keep travelling.

    I thought that was you! I heard the bell and just glanced over to see this cheerful bike rider going past. Your eyes are younger and sharper than mine.

  5. April 24, 2009 at 8:49 am

    The reason I didn’t have a bike is that I didn’t live anywhere near a road.
    When I was about 10 my mother bought me a sixth-hand used bike for 10/- and I would push it to the top of the hill and freewheel down the hill, I still have blue-grey gravel in my knee from a spill at the bottom.

    “No guts, no glory” Shammy!

  6. April 24, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    As luck would have it – today our casual cycling group passed Queenscliff Harbour on our regular Friday ride, and spotted the Spirit of Mystery moored inside. Thinking of its size amidst the Southern Ocean waves made me wince.

    We only scanned for it from the western side of the marina so we must have missed it. Maybe being so tiny didn’t help. That cycling group web page has to be your doing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

