Home > Uncategorized > The Soprano

The Soprano

I had a week of fixing other peoples computer problems and now I’m brain dead.  A long walk along the beach was just what the doctor ordered to clear the head and so a few photos instead of copious Babble for a change.

We hit the main beach and had it mainly to ourselves.  Or so we thought.

A big wave stranded this lot.  Then again, what big waves?

We ran into this unusual pile of seaweed.  Hopefully gone in a couple of days

“The Rock” is exactly 5k’s from the main beach and our turnaround.  You can just see the roof of our latte stop in the distance beyond the bluff.

We decided on a swim when we got back to the main beach as it was around 30c and we were in a lather of sweat.  It’s about this time of the year that the cold currents can return and it was with trepidation when we hit the briny.  Considering that no one else was in the water without a wetsuit should have been a give-away but it did finally dawn on me when I swear I could hear MP screaming underwater!

Actually, it wasn’t that bad but a very refreshing way to finish a pleasant walk.

  1. April 4, 2009 at 12:01 am

    That second photo is obviously a surfing class.

    We watched a few of them at Arrawarra a couple of years ago. Don’t tell anyone, but Arrawarra is one of those heaven on earth places. No one knows about it so it’s really quiet. Long expanses of beach, heaps of wildlife, the caravan park overlooks the beach all the way to NZ and you go to sleep to the sound of the surf. The only people that know about it are students from UNE that have to wade across the creek every morning and wander up the beach to class. Class involved looking for cool creatures in the rock pools of Arrawarra Headland.

    I can feel another blog entry coming on, but I think I’ve already done it here.

    Steve – Sounds like where I live. Except maybe for the “really quiet” part. Then again, pick your time and we have expanses of lonely beach, wildlife galore (BTW, Sammy the Seal is still in the river) and heaps of creatures in the rock pools at the Barwon Heads Bluff.

  2. AZ
    April 4, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I’ve seen strands of seaweed on San Diego beaches it smelled bad, what was the smell like with that huge deposit of seaweed?

    AZ – No smell at all. Fairly new so no time to rot yet and it’s usually gone in a few days anyway.

  3. April 5, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Do you know what the water temp was? Its about 7/8 over here.

    Peggy – Probably between 16 and 20 the moment. We have a friend staying who is doing a triathlon in Corio Bay in Geelong today and it was 18 there last evening when he checked in (The water is tested to see if they have to wear wetsuits). At this time of the year, you tend to get quite a fluctuation along the ocean side. A swim earlier in the week felt quite chilly and one on Friday was warmer. The latest I’ve ever swum here is mid May, the last month of autumn, but it’s getting quite cold by then. We won’t get too many swims in from now on.

  4. Scott from Oregon
    April 5, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I can’t wait for summer, but no way I swim in the Pacific without a suit…

    At least the Pacific where you live.

  5. April 6, 2009 at 2:30 am

    Thanks for the pics of the beach, I love beaches. I was born and brought up on the coast, I could see the beach from my bedroom window, spent all summer on the beach…. and I miss being by the sea. I try to visit the ocean at least once each year, but perhaps not this year….. the nearest ocean is 1000 miles away!

    Shammy – I’d go nuts living away from the coast. Lived with salt air up my nostrils all my life.

  6. April 6, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    I think the seaweed monster exploded.

    Gabrielle – I wish it had been the Cookie Monster instead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

